Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2017, 02:44 PM   #1

Going Seasonal for the 1st Time

Hi, my family and I have been camping for a few years and are now going seasonal. Last year we purchased a Rockwood Ultra Lite Signature Series Trailer and this year will be our first time going seasonal. I'm curious if anyone has an idea on stabilizing the trailer for the time it will be there? We are planning to be seasonal for years to come.

Can't wait, season starts in 2 weeks
Briannh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 03:05 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the FRF from NC! I moved your thread to our seasonal forum so you can get better answers.
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 03:10 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briannh View Post
Hi, my family and I have been camping for a few years and are now going seasonal. Last year we purchased a Rockwood Ultra Lite Signature Series Trailer and this year will be our first time going seasonal. I'm curious if anyone has an idea on stabilizing the trailer for the time it will be there? We are planning to be seasonal for years to come.

Can't wait, season starts in 2 weeks
Travel Trailer or fifth wheel?

In either case, use blocks under the stabilizers, to keep the jacks from extending to their maximum reach. That will help a lot. Also, if it is a fifth wheel, a king pin tripod will help the front of the trailer.

You might also consider some bottle jacks or jack stands under the center of the frame rails, unless you have a six-point level-up system.
2021 Chevy Silverado 3500HD DRW 4X4 Duramax
“It's not how old you are, it's how you are old.”Jules Renard
"It's not the years...it's the mileage." - Indiana Jones
Capt. Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 03:51 PM   #4
Just as confused as you

Welcome to the seasonal side of camping.