Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-06-2013, 08:57 AM   #1

2014 salem hemispere 356qbq

Ok everybody we just got our new fifth wheel and took it out this weekend. This is my first fifth wheel so I'm new to all the problems that come with them. I'm pulling it with a 2008 ford f350 drw and a b&w patriot hitch. Whenever we would hit a bump usually on a hill it would start jerking real bad when I accelerated and the only way to make it quit was to get off the gas pedal. Tried to accelerate thru it but it just got worse. Pulled great on the highway just had trouble on the roads with hills. I know this is a very long fifth wheel so not sure if its that or trailer brakes or what. Thanks for the help!
RV maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 02:40 PM   #2

I wonder how it would tow with another TV! Sounds to me like your hitch is flexing. Can someone possibly watch the hitch as this problem occurs? I'm not very familiar with B&W but believe it has an under-bed frame...u might check the torque on the bolts attached to the frame of your truck.
jbklein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 03:31 PM   #3
Always Learning

No idea about the Ops issue- but the B&W Patriot attaches to standard hitch rails like any other hitch.
Old 06-12-2013, 04:54 PM   #4

I will check torque on bolts. After pulling the fifth wheel a few times now it seems to only happen when I'm in a higher gear at a lower speed. If I'm trying to drive slow for gas mileage soon as I hit forth gear at a low rpm it starts jerking. If I'm accelerating faster it doesn't really happen.
Old 06-29-2013, 01:39 PM   #5