Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2015, 01:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
2016 Salem 32BHDS TV cables

We just bought our first travel trailer. We were wondering about the TV cables. The TV in the main living area has 2 cable connections. One is labeled TV1. The other is Satellite. The TV in the bunk house room only has one connection. Both TVs work when using the antenna. But when we are connected to the campground cable. The bunk house TV still runs off the antenna. Is there a way to change this? Or do I need to run a new cable?
__________________

__________________
mkistner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 04:34 PM   #2
I go RV'ing not Camping
 
jgourlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lethbridge, Ab, Canada
Posts: 1,474
you have to change the setting in the tv menu to use cable not antenna and do a channel search...That should get it working for you
__________________

__________________
312QBUD Owners Thread
2015 Wildwood Heritage Glen 312QBUD
2000 Chev 2500 Extended Cab 6 Liter
1400lbs Equal-i-zer Hitch
jgourlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 06:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
We did that. But it would not find any channels. On the outside of the camper. It has 2 coax cable connections. They are labeled cable and satellite. We tried one but not the other. The connection inside that says TV1 also has the antenna booster switch beside it. So we connected that TV to the connection labeled satellite. And it worked. Just don't understand why they would have cable connection on just 1 tv when the camper has 2 tv hookups.
__________________
mkistner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
In my crossroads the satellite connection goes straight thru and the cable gets split to rest of the camper at the booster

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk
__________________
2008 v-lite 30 wrls
gsbuick65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 08:41 AM   #5
Happy Camper
 
Tonylmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 124
Does it have a little push button switch by the cable connection? I have a different model camper, but that is how mine works. I think you push it in to get antenna (and a light comes on) and leave it out for cable. And I have a separate one for satellite. I don't think I have a TV connection back by the bunks but now I will check because you have me wondering.

Good luck!
__________________
Tonylmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 10:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mines has a button, it's to Amp the signal
__________________
2008 v-lite 30 wrls
gsbuick65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 10:18 AM   #7
Happy Camper
 
Tonylmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 124
My TV only has one input, so I hooked the cable to the "Cable" connection on the back of the camper and the TV to the cable/antenna one (not the satellite one) on the inside. Then, by using that little button, I could switch between cable and antenna. At least that is how I remember it...
__________________
Tonylmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 11:20 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Mine does have the little button beside the coax connection of the main tv. The dealer said it was an antenna booster. I will try that will I get home. Thanks for the help.
__________________
mkistner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 11:23 AM   #9
Happy Camper
 
Tonylmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 124
Only problem I had was, my cheap TV would not remember the channels for cable and antenna when I switched between the two. Every time I switched, I had to scan for channels again. Since it took a few minutes to scan, it is not something I wanted to do very often.

So be sure to scan for channels, specifying "cable" or "antenna" when you switch over, if necessary.
__________________
Tonylmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 01:07 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 81
Most campers the sat and cable connection only work in the living area. You will.only get roof top antenna channels in the bedrooms. At least that is the way it has been with all 3 rvs I have owned.
__________________

__________________
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.