Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2019, 08:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Cable TV in 42DL Grand Villa/Lodge loft area?

Hubby and I are loving the new 2020 Grand Villa 42DL. We’re slowly moving in and getting comfy. We finally got around to hanging a TV in the loft area, specifically the two bed side. I can’t seem to get the cable signal to work at all. I turned on the antenna booster in the master bedroom, and now I can get three PBS channels. This indicates to me that the coax is hooked to the antenna only. Is that correct? We have two (unlabeled) outlets on the outside and two (unlabeled) behind the TV in the living room, and we finally got to a combination that has our living room Tv and master BR TV working with the park cable, so I don’t want to start messing with anything without a plan. But, it certainly would be nice for our guests to have more than PBS. Anyone get that “upstairs” TV working on park cable? TIA.
__________________

hokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 07:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jammer3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokie View Post
Hubby and I are loving the new 2020 Grand Villa 42DL. We’re slowly moving in and getting comfy. We finally got around to hanging a TV in the loft area, specifically the two bed side. I can’t seem to get the cable signal to work at all. I turned on the antenna booster in the master bedroom, and now I can get three PBS channels. This indicates to me that the coax is hooked to the antenna only. Is that correct? We have two (unlabeled) outlets on the outside and two (unlabeled) behind the TV in the living room, and we finally got to a combination that has our living room Tv and master BR TV working with the park cable, so I don’t want to start messing with anything without a plan. But, it certainly would be nice for our guests to have more than PBS. Anyone get that “upstairs” TV working on park cable? TIA.
Our Salem 32bhds has cable tv, and satellite connections on the inside and outside. You might be connected to the satellite side. IDK.
__________________

__________________
2017 Salem 32bhds
2015 Ram 3500 DRW, CTD 4x4, MC,Aisin,4.10's
SIX BURNIN - SIX TURNIN
Jammer3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:27 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
That’s what I’m wondering. The only thing throwing me off is that the living room and master BR TVs are working fine. Those locations have two outlets, though, so I’m assuming it’s possible that those are hooked up to the “wrong” outlet and so is the input on the outside of the trailer. Upstairs only has one coax outlet (per TV location). We may just have to do some experiments with all the different permutations.
hokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,777
The antenna booster is only for OTA signals. For cable OR satellite, it has to be off.
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:53 PM   #5
PPST Wannabe
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by BandJCarm View Post
The antenna booster is only for OTA signals. For cable OR satellite, it has to be off.
X2 what he said
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:58 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Correct. I only turned it on to test if the coax upstairs was working for OTA, which it is. I generally leave the booster off since it provides no amplification of other signals and could potentially cause interference. We will probably just start trying different combinations to see if anything other than OTA works upstairs. My concern is that since there is only one outlet there and two at each location downstairs that the OTA is the only signal headed up that way. I’ve seen a couple folks that opened up the bathroom vent (for other reasons) and there is a cable splitter in there. I may have to play with that if we don’t have luck with changing inputs. The downstairs TVs are more the priority. Upstairs is a nice-to for occasional visitors.
hokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 06:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Smiths Falls Ont
Posts: 107
Turn off the TVs and get outside!!!

Jk it’s so hot and muggy here in Ontario right I’m in bed ac blasting just killing time to go fishing!
__________________

AceCombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, loft

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


×