Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-26-2014, 11:29 PM   #1

Detachable tongue questions

Hi all, I'm new to the FR forums. We just bought a 2011 Salem Villa Estate 39XX(something, can't remember). The TT is on a seasonal site. I've discovered that the tongue is removable. I'd like to detach the tongue and do some site improvements. I have a few questions for the group:
  1. How heavy is the tongue once it's unbolted? I'm wondering if the DW and I can handle it ourselves.
  2. How do I relocate the battery box?
  3. What do I do with the propane tanks? There is a 100 lb cylinder there in addition to the factory set.
Thanks in advance.
KyleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:13 AM   #2

Welcome to the Forums. I am not familiar with your set up but would be fairly heavy. The worst problem I can see is if you ever want to put it back on it would be a bear to hold & line up to get the bolts back in. Without some type of hoist or jack.

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:19 PM   #3

Oaklevel, thanks for your thoughts. I'm hoping to get more inputs on the battery box and propane tank relocates. C'mon folks, I've scoured these forums and haven't found the info I seek. I know there are lots of smart people on the forums.
Old 06-27-2014, 09:32 PM   #4
Mod free 5er

Best advice is landscape around it and leave it on.

I know this is not what you wanted to hear/see, but it is an honest opinion.
Old 06-27-2014, 10:13 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Best advice is landscape around it and leave it on.

I know this is not what you wanted to hear/see, but it is an honest opinion.