Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2014, 06:00 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Yes I will hav it tested for possibly a warranty issue


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:13 PM   #32
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogmonte View Post
Well my hard start kit from dometic came in today and I hav already installed it. It was very simple to do,it says to connect red wire to Herm on fan run cap and white wire to "C" terminal on fan run cap. But generator still will not run A/C 😞.

The temp here is only 80 degrees, fridge is running on LP, WH is off, I've even turned off the converter. Might try the fan delay before purchasing a new generator.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Can you post a pic of your gennie electrical panel?

"sabre owners united!"


turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:20 PM   #33
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
That gennie is only 2600 watts continuous.
Thats roughly 21 amps.
Your a/c will most likely need 18 amps to start.
So at best its marginal.
Especially if that gennie is overrated.

"sabre owners united!"


turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:29 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1406154414.815531.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	565.2 KB
ID:	58794Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1406154435.327137.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	633.2 KB
ID:	58795
This is the adapter I use


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:43 PM   #35
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogmonte View Post
Attachment 58794Attachment 58795
This is the adapter I use


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Lol I'd have to wonder how they show that outlet being 30 amp when the gennie at normal running capacity only puts out at best 22 amps!

"sabre owners united!"


turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:46 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
I see that you have an idle control, lower left of picture. Have you turn it off when trying to run AC? On mine I have to have it off.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 07:03 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Yes idle control was off, i did run ac on shore power for about 10mins to cool down trailer and went back up to recheck connections and I do notice that the fan motor is almost to hot to touch. But everything is running ok except when running on generator and the compressor try's to turn on it goes to overload indicator.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 07:26 PM   #38
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogmonte View Post
Yes idle control was off, i did run ac on shore power for about 10mins to cool down trailer and went back up to recheck connections and I do notice that the fan motor is almost to hot to touch. But everything is running ok except when running on generator and the compressor try's to turn on it goes to overload indicator.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Did you happen to see the reviews on Amazon regarding this generator?

"sabre owners united!"


turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 08:06 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Been looking at this thread for a while after all the comments I think in the fall I will be looking for the champion 3100. It seems to have better reviews than the dometic also it has a version that has electric start so if the lights go out at home while I'm at work my wife will be able to start it.
__________________
Think about things before you do them make life easier not harder.
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 05:43 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
Ok I bought a tester to test the amps of the A/C during start up while hooked up to to the generator. When the fan kicks on the amps are at 3.4 while the fan is still running and the compressor kicks on the amps jump up to 26 amps and the generator goes into overload. Not sure if I'm right but that is roughy around 2800 watts.

So I decided to hook A/C up to shore power and run the same test with the the same meter (T5-1000) and when the fan kicks on the amps are at 3.1. When the compressor kicks on the amps go up to 39.6 for about 1 second then drop down to 12.5. Does that sound normal for the compressor to draw that many amps at startup?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.