Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2015, 07:38 PM   #1

Gnats in bathroom

Hello, I'm new to travel trailers and having issues with gnats in my bathroom and I need some help / suggestions. I just got my new trailer last friday and when I checked on the camper saturday, I immediately noticed gnats in the shower skylight. The black tank is empty and has not been used yet, I covered the shower drain and bathroom sink, and the toilet has water in it. I did check the roof around the skylight and it appears to be sealed.
The camper is in a rural area and is connected to a septic tank but the black and gray valves are closed. Is this type of problem normal? It's currently November and I'm very concerned about having gnats problems in the summer weather.
Any advice and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Camper....
2016 Salem Cruise Lite 241QBXL
fainttrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 08:35 AM   #2
Happy Camper

First, I would try to discover how they got in there. Pour a glass of water into all of your drains so that they are sealed by the trap. It could be that one pregnant female got in there somehow and laid 500 eggs. You may never solve that one.
Then I would just spray a pesticide and try to kill them. Although, if they have no food inside the (new) camper, I would think they would all die anyway if you have time to wait.
Tonylmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 08:44 AM   #3
Site Team

You are making the assumption that equipment in the RV has not been used. Occasionally dealer employees will have food or use sinks etc while prepping units. Pour 1 gal water down all drains to flush them out and fill traps. Check closets floor for food scraps. Their life span is very short and unless the cause ( food or open trap) persists, they will not come back.

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax