Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2015, 10:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 416
Hi you can probably get away with the 8000 btu ac. But like post #7 said you can only run one big power load at a time. So you will have to chose what big power loads you need. This is not a very big generator but for its size and gas consumption it is a nice unit. If you want more power you can rent 2 of them and Parallel them and double the power out put. Or you can rent one that is rated at 3100 watts.

Hope this helps Tim
__________________

__________________
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 11:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
These are nice and less likely the weight of your plug will pull the adaptor out of the generator:
RV Generator Adapters
__________________

__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:09 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfnbike13 View Post
A toaster? It seriously can't run a 2 slice toaster ?
Yes, but you just can't exceed the generator's output by simultaneously running high-demand appliances. You might not need to install an inverter, since that generator provides 12V DC also.
__________________
2011 Sabre Silhouette 260BHS
2006 F-250 6.OL
tinkerreknit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 07:11 AM   #14
Member
 
Claude002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lac Des Plages QUEBEC
Posts: 72
I do not know if you have tried the generator yet--but everytime I stay at a Walmart I have to use mine, and in the morning I do the coffee once that is done, the generator shift back to normal, and I get my 2 toast Cuisinart toaster to work without any problem, being doing that for 3 years.
__________________
Claude002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 01:05 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Golfnbike13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 351
Why does everyone say the honda 2000w doesn't power anything. Been using it this weekend for a test run. It's running my 8,000 btu AC and fridge just fine. It even runs the microwave, keurig, or toaster with those on. Granted it does kick up into high with the 3 appliance but still works. Seems like I could get by fine with only this for my 195bh??? Am I missing something?
__________________
Golfnbike13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 02:34 PM   #16
Member
 
Claude002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lac Des Plages QUEBEC
Posts: 72
X2
__________________
Claude002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 03:04 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Cause most of the larger rv's have 13.5k or greater ac units and electric WH also. Large demand items.

We usually just take one and it does the job just fine- if we need ac we bring the second one or book hookups.
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 05:38 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Golfnbike13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 351
Maybe I spoke too soon. After running the AC for about an hour it just kicked off with the overload light on
__________________
Golfnbike13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:23 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfnbike13 View Post
Why does everyone say the honda 2000w doesn't power anything. Been using it this weekend for a test run. It's running my 8,000 btu AC and fridge just fine. It even runs the microwave, keurig, or toaster with those on. Granted it does kick up into high with the 3 appliance but still works. Seems like I could get by fine with only this for my 195bh??? Am I missing something?
If you are aware of what you are asking the gen to do, the 2000 will be just fine.

I have had a 3000 since 2003 and if I had to do it again, I would get a 2000. We almost never use the AC, and prefer propane for the HW unless at a CG with power.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 10:17 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 36
FYI ac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfnbike13 View Post
Not sure I will need the AC yet, but mine is only a 8,000 BTU. I've heard several people say they can run that off their genny as long as the microwave isn't on?
Off topic but the powers to be a couple years ago have the a c units using less amps. Wal mart sells a 5 k btu that pulls less than 5 amps. We use it on our houseboat and it runs the ac the frig house lights TV and box all work together off our Honda 2000, at the same time, and that's with the Honda sitting some 30 to 45 feet from the boat.


Perhaps both compressors didn't kick on at the same time frig an ac. I couldn't say
__________________

__________________
Rickhise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.