Old 11-10-2014, 04:00 PM   #1

Info about Forest River Salem Hemisphere 282RK

Just bought a new FR 282RK today!

Got a good deal, I hope, on it since it was a 2014.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any feedback on how those of you who have them, like them.

Old 11-10-2014, 06:50 PM   #2

I have the same model but I am new to camping, it is my first camper, but we do love it. I got it in Feb of this year. So for the awning is starting to milldew, it is hard to get the shake out of it when set up to camp in, It pulls great, I have a weight disttribution hitch, the chain type with one sway bar, it pulls better when you have some weight on the bumper when towing. Still looking for the drain lines on the water system. I have read the bypass on the water heater is behind one of the drawers in the bedroom. I have found when hooking up the water to the camper, the water heater heats better when you burp the heater several times to get all the air out of the water heater. The lights are really bright, and I am needing to find less bright bulbs for it. Wish it had a slide in the bedroom for more storage and room in there. I have not use the gas yet, but the air coditioner works well. My dealer broke one of my rear tail lights trying to check the bulbs because the power cable that was hooked up on my truck was not making a good conection, I am still trying to get them to replace it or give me one for me to do it myself. It is ver cometable to stay in. We bought a after market matress that the dealer ordered, but it is already tearing up at the seams and we have only used it maybe 20 days. It was 800 dollars, but sleeps well. The bath room door had to be adjusted on the hinges to make it close ok. The spare tire cover blew off not long after we got the camper, it did not fit well. I am going to check into other ways to steady the camper when set up, It shakes when walking through it. I have read it has springs which causes it to shake. Hope this helps. Also it does not have a cut off s