Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2019, 11:44 AM   #1
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Slide/stabilizers donít work

I have a 2018 27DBK with electric stabilizers on it. The front and the back stabilizers both have their own switches on the outside, and the slide has a switch on the inside panel, next to the awning switch. My slide and stabilizers do not work with their switches, but the awning does. Everything works when I use the wireless remote for the unit. Iíve went through fuses and didnít see any blown. Iím wondering if anyone has any suggestions or has seen this before and could point me in the right direction.
__________________

HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 02:08 PM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,224
Do you know where the remote receiver is located? Check all the fuses on it.

Do you know where the resettable breakers (fuses) are located near the front of the RV?
It could be one of those tripped and needs resetting.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 02:39 PM   #3
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
Do you know where the remote receiver is located? Check all the fuses on it.

Do you know where the resettable breakers (fuses) are located near the front of the RV?
It could be one of those tripped and needs resetting.


I have a main breaker box with fuses, I checked all of those. I have another set of fuses under fridge Iíve checked, all good. Iíve found two inline fuses both good. And the resettable breakers seemed good up front and I actually replaced one of them. I have one more removable panel on my bathtub I was considering taking off to check for fuses under there but it seems like a weird spot for there to be fuses.
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 03:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4,591
Guessing you lost a power leg that feeds those switches.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 03:19 PM   #5
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWolfPaq82 View Post
Guessing you lost a power leg that feeds those switches.


What exactly is that
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 03:36 PM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,224
They put the remote receivers in some odd places.

I don't have a Sabre listed in my spreadsheet, but there several units with the receiver under the bath vanity.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 03:43 PM   #7
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
They put the remote receivers in some odd places.

I don't have a Sabre listed in my spreadsheet, but there several units with the receiver under the bath vanity.


Itís a Salem
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 03:54 PM   #8
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,176
It sure sounds as if the feed circuit for the items you mentioned doesn't have power.

On units with remote pendants for those items, the feed to the switches typically comes from the remote receiver/relay assembly.

I wish I could tell you where it is on your particular model but I can't... but you are going to have to locate it.

Have you contacted Salem?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=14
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 04:44 PM   #9
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
It sure sounds as if the feed circuit for the items you mentioned doesn't have power.

On units with remote pendants for those items, the feed to the switches typically comes from the remote receiver/relay assembly.

I wish I could tell you where it is on your particular model but I can't... but you are going to have to locate it.

Have you contacted Salem?


I havenít contacted Salem, I contacted the dealer and of course they just want me to bring it in. I believe the assembly is the one under my fridge because it clicks when I use the remote.
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 05:09 PM   #10
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,224
I don't have a 27DBK listed, but the 27RKSS 2018 models have the remote receiver located Under the "Bathroom Sink Behind Access Panel". In fact several Salem models have it listed as being there.

I have a 2018 33BHOK as being under the fridge.

When you do find it please let us know and I'll add it to the spreadsheet.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 05:36 PM   #11
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
I don't have a 27DBK listed, but the 27RKSS 2018 models have the remote receiver located Under the "Bathroom Sink Behind Access Panel". In fact several Salem models have it listed as being there.

I have a 2018 33BHOK as being under the fridge.

When you do find it please let us know and I'll add it to the spreadsheet.
I plan to work on it Saturday. I will get back to you with pictures and if I find anything. Thanks for the continued help.
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 02:48 PM   #12
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Alright so I got back to the camper later than anticipated but essentially hereís where I am. I took out all my fuses, had a resistance of 0.00 on all of them. Iím not very good with a multimeter as I havenít had to use one much, but I took a shot at testing switches so I tested the slide switch and I get feedback when I release the switch of about .6 and When I test the awning (button next to slide, has always worked) I get immediate feedback of around 13. So am I not getting power to the slide switch essentially? And have to continue my fuse search? I canít imagine thereís another fuse box in my camper. Iíve done quite a bit of searching

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1963.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	404.7 KB
ID:	221195Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1964.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	284.2 KB
ID:	221196Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1962.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	287.5 KB
ID:	221197
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 05:17 PM   #13
Member
 
handymanj56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: buena park
Posts: 40
Did you ever find the problem?
handymanj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 06:21 PM   #14
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by handymanj56 View Post
Did you ever find the problem?


I have not. Scratching my head as to where anymore fuse locations would be. No replies from forest river, which is incredibly disappointing considering I just bought a cedar creek and just want to get this one fixed and sold.
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 06:24 PM   #15
Member
 
handymanj56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: buena park
Posts: 40
I have the same system, the way they installed.... Things I can see having hard to find problem s
handymanj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 06:27 PM   #16
Member
 
handymanj56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: buena park
Posts: 40
Here is my locationClick image for larger version

Name:	20190926_183137.jpeg
Views:	37
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	221225
handymanj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 06:30 PM   #17
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by handymanj56 View Post
Here is my locationAttachment 221225


Thats a different fuse panel than the ones I posted? So thereís really 3 fuse locations then? I donít think I can get to the right side of my water heater like that.
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 08:26 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
Do you know where the resettable breakers (fuses) are located near the front of the RV? It could be one of those tripped and needs resetting.
I did not see a response to this question? This is what they look like. There are usually 2 or more and are usually located near the battery. If they are exposed to the weather, they are subject to corrosion. Some are automatic and some are manual reset.

I would also check all the connections to the ground bar(s). There may be more than one.
Trailer traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 09:53 AM   #19
Member
 
HappilyLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trailer traveler View Post
I did not see a response to this question? This is what they look like. There are usually 2 or more and are usually located near the battery. If they are exposed to the weather, they are subject to corrosion. Some are automatic and some are manual reset.

I would also check all the connections to the ground bar(s). There may be more than one.


There are 2 of them near the front of the unit by the battery. One had looked like it was tripped, and I replaced it with an auto resettable one and it didnít solve the problem. The other had a ton of wiring coming to it and looked like it wasnít tripped. My question is why would these be an issue if Iím connected to shore power. Excuse my lack of knowledge here as the answer is probably obvious. And would a ground connection loose somewhere cause two things to stop working with buttons but not remotes?
HappilyLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 12:32 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappilyLost View Post
My question is why would these be an issue if Iím connected to shore power. Excuse my lack of knowledge here as the answer is probably obvious. And would a ground connection loose somewhere cause two things to stop working with buttons but not remotes?
I don't have a definitive answer for you. My guess is it would depend on how the feed from the converter is wired into the 12 volt system. I am not an electrician, but over the years I have experienced some strange issues with 12V RV systems. Most of them that involved only some appliances/powered devices have been related to the circuit breakers and grounding. I have never had an RV with remote control so no experience there.
__________________

Trailer traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, stabilizer, stabilizers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


×