Old 06-08-2012, 08:25 PM   #1

Electrical help need-SOLVED!

I have a 07 304FW Sandpiper, half of my outlets arnt working . 5 on the right side, 2 outside 2 in the kitchen and one in the bedroom.. everything else works fine. the other 3 in the main room and one other in the bedroom also the one in the bathroom . The one in the bathroom is the only one I have found that has a reset, even thou I'm sure there should be Two GFI's. What am i missing, something simple I'm sure ????

Hatchet
Chevy 2500HD Diesel
07 SandPiper F305

Days camped 2011 "3" so far,
Hatchet58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #2

Guessing it is a GFCI, but could be a loose wire connection and not a ground fault. It is also possible that one if the hot legs at the hookup is bad? Any chance you have a meter with? It'd check breakers first, then I'd check the gfci circuit and possibly remove outlets to make sure leads are connected securely.
I'm no electrician though, so just mho

Joel

jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 09:53 PM   #3

*Could* easily be as simple as a GFCI recept. has tripped. 50 or 30 amp service? If 50 amp, might be one supply leg is out. If 30, you may have a little more digging to do.

Yes, get a voltmeter. Take cover off panel and check voltage on load side of each breaker. If this all checks okay, I'd say it's a 99.9% probability you have a bad connection at a receptacle. You might even turn each breaker off and back on in case one has tripped and you can't see it (the handle only moves part way).

If you have a whole whack of receptacles out suddenly and at the same time, I'm guessing you have a tripped breaker or GFCI. Breakers do fail once in a while, but that's pretty rare. It's also possible you have a wire that has come off at the rear of the receptacle, but that should be the last thing you might check for. Found a bad one in our own trailer.