Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 04:08 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
golfmedik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 966
Good job!
__________________

__________________
2012 Sandpiper 365SAQ weighing @ 15k, Onan, 2nd air, slide toppers, TST
2013 F350 6.7L Lariat 4x4 CC DRW,Viair 1007, Ride-Rites, Edge CTS, B&W
2001 Chevy 3500CC DRW 4x4, 8.1L, 4.10 gears w/ Detroit TrueTrac
2001 Ford Excursion Limited 4x4 7.3L,V/B Spring Mod, ProComps, Hellwig Swaybar, & other 'Necessities'
golfmedik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:18 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
So I got my inverter remote display and trimetric all buttoned up inside.
__________________

__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 06:41 PM   #23
Member
 
supercab79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 98
By the way did the switch w swap today well well worth the 15 mins of effort it takes.
__________________
06 3500 Laramie Dodge Mega Cab 4x4 5.9CTD Short Bed Dually
13 Sandpiper 365SAQ Fifth Wheel
05 Chevrolet Tahoe
93 F-250 XLT 4x4 Diesel Banks Sidewinder (gone but not forgotten)
79 Jeep CJ-7
77 F-250 Crew Cab Short Bed 4x4
supercab79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:29 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
Yeah it is crazy that they put the main switch into a cabinet.
Here is a picture of my battery box that holds 4 batteries utilizing the factory vents.
You can also see the inverter cables with the 300 amp fuse and the shunt for the trimetric battery meter.



I'm working on reinforcing the fold down bunk but I read before that the 2012's had a wood frame. It looks like mine is 2x2 aluminum framed. I just wondered if this was a model year change or if they were all aluminum?
__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:26 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
I finished up all my wiring projects for now. I was amazed there are no 12 volt plugs anywhere so I installed 2 below the tv.
I also wired my inverter to it's own plug to power the whole camper.
I also wired up the front Air conditioner to run off a 20 amp circuit so when only 30 amp service is available I can just flip the switch and plug an extension cord in and the front a/c will have it's own power.
Here is a picture of my inverter it's a 2k watt model.

I upgraded the convertor to a 4 stage 75 amp boondocker to help maintain the batteries.

Now I can start on organizing all the storage space.
__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:39 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
golfmedik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 966
Very nice Ruf...very nice.. Now it makes me want to do more with mine..This forum is bad for that!
__________________
2012 Sandpiper 365SAQ weighing @ 15k, Onan, 2nd air, slide toppers, TST
2013 F350 6.7L Lariat 4x4 CC DRW,Viair 1007, Ride-Rites, Edge CTS, B&W
2001 Chevy 3500CC DRW 4x4, 8.1L, 4.10 gears w/ Detroit TrueTrac
2001 Ford Excursion Limited 4x4 7.3L,V/B Spring Mod, ProComps, Hellwig Swaybar, & other 'Necessities'
golfmedik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 10:53 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
My next minor project was to reinforce the lower stair so it wouldn't feel like I was going to step thru it anymore. I took a 4x4 and cut 1 side at a 5 degree angle and cut the other end flat. The I just set it under the center support and hammered it over until it was tight. I did this all from the front. Just remove the grate.
__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 11:43 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
cmptrkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gretna Nebraska
Posts: 143
You'll have to let us know how the AC on the 20amp circuit works out. I had also thought of doing something similar and so many people said it would never work. I would say 75% of our camping is at parks where we can only get a 30amp for one reason or another. I have been wanting to do something like this. If t works good for you, I'm curious if you would share how you did the mod. I'm guessing you're just switching the load (or black wire) either from the camper plug, or the new plug you installed, but is the neutral just running from the main unit at all times? I know enough about electrical to get most things done, but just not sure if you are hooking up both neutrals and letting it bond to both. Thanks for your posts on your mods, they look nice.
__________________
cmptrkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 12:07 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
Here is a link to a thread I had on Rv.net. I was planning on using this for the inverter but for now I just plug the rv plug into my inverter and shut off the converter. I used a double pole double throw middle off switch. This switch has 6 screws. This way you switch both wires. I have tested my setup and it works fine. RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Double pole Double Throw Switch For inverter
__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:52 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
I have been complaining on how poor the heat works in my camper so i decided to do some testing. I bought a handheld wind meter and checked my vents to see how hard they blow. I have 4 vents in my camper. 1 in the master and upstairs bathroom. They are both fed by a duct that two hoses from the furnace connect to. I have a vent in the main room and the kids room, these are also fed by another duct and 2 other hoses from the furnace feed this duct. My main concern is heating the kids room.
If I run the furnace the way it was designed the 2 upstairs registers flow 5mph. The main room flows 4mph and the kids room flows 3.5mph.

If I close all the vents but the kids room it will flow 8mph. I then checked to see ho hard the hoses will blow without the duct. I added a 5th hose to the furnace and put a round register on it. It will blow 12mph and the kids room maintained 8mph.
So it seems the ducting is very inefficient in my camper.
I decided to add a register to one of my air intake vents under the stairs to help heat the main room while still providing the most heat to the kids room.
I cut the stock register to accept the new round register.

Here it is installed in the register.
Here is the hose routed under the stairs.
Here is the octopus of hoses from the furnace. I can now sit on the couch and feel the air from my new vent, and the kids room feels good.
__________________

__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.