Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 03:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 34
Question about satellite tv

We have a 2014 Sandpiper 35ROK and was thinking about getting Direct TV, if we do and only get one box for the TV in the main living room will we have picture and sound to the TV'S in the bedroom and outside kitchen using the same box in the living room? Thanks for your replies..... Joe Greenwell
__________________

__________________
ky joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 03:48 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Yes you can have picture and sound to those TVs with only one box. However, I am not sure how this works since my husband set ours up.
__________________

__________________
chiefswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 03:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 323
I can't see how without taking the box room to room.
__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 03:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 323
I would be interested in knowing how.
__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Road-King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 645
Just setup my Dish on my 2014 "Keystone" 5th wheel. Keystone now runs a coax from the living-room tv area to the bed-room tv area. I have the living-room tv hooked to the sat box via HDMI. The bed-room connected to the sat box via coax to a A/B switch then coax to the tv and the tv set on channel 4 (you can use 3 or 4). The A/B (A=antenna, B=sat Box) switch allows me to watch one tv on sat and one on antenna if I wanted to.

Of course if both tv's are on sat, they must watch the same channel and I have to change channels in the living-room.

I would think new Forest Rivers have a similar setup...
__________________
Russ & Kim
2014 Alpine 3600RS
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 4X4
2008 Harley Davidson Road King 105th Anniversary
(2011-5 bad year)(2012-40)(2013-45)(2014-23)
Road-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat1956 View Post
I can't see how without taking the box room to room.
If you plug the direct tv into the camper it will go through to the other tvs but if you do it direct to the tv you will only get it in that room. The only thing you won't be able change channels unless your in the room that the box is in also every tv will have the same thing on it.
__________________
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 04:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
slide5r4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 280
You might be able to feed a 2nd TV from one box but you'll be stuck watching the same channel on both TV's. We have DirecTV at home and bring two boxes with us when we go camping. We have the Genie system that uses the SWM (Single wire multiswitch) to feed all TV's. We installed the power inserter and SWM device in the basement of our fiver and ran an extra coax line into the bedroom via the dresser. Changed the outlet on the dresser from a single (cable/OTA) to a double (Cable/OTA & Satellite) This allows us to hook up satellite or cable without making any wiring changes. Works great!

If you don't already have DirecTV at home and are looking for a low cost way of getting satellite, I believe Dish has a pay as you go plan. Not familiar with their systems but I think they have a two channel satellite box that would allow you to feed 2 TV's from one box.
__________________
Kevin & Janine
2006 Dodge 2500 Megacab CTD 2WD
2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS
Pullrite Superglide 16K Hitch
slide5r4fun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks for the replies,
__________________
ky joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:01 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 71
We had to go with the winegard pathway x2 which gives you two receivers and locations
__________________

__________________
Tm_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.