Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-08-2011, 04:55 PM   #1

Sandpiper 303bh

Hello everyone , I am new to FRF and really enjoy reading everyones posts ,I am looking at buying a TT , the model that me and the wife like is the Sandpiper 303bh , I am wondering if it is too heavy for my F150 to pull safely .My truck is a 2007 , crewcab with 6.5foot box , with the 5.4liter V8 and also 4 wheel drive , I dont know the gear ratio . I know that once the trailer is loaded with water and our camping gear it will be quite heavy , We do not plan on traveling to much as we reserved a seasonal spot and plan to leave it there most of the time , I will eventually trade my truck for bigger ( within the next couple of years ) so I would hate to buy a TT that weighs less that we dont care for . There is so many TT out there it is hard to decide which is better ! I have a young son so the Bunkhouse model is a must have . And I like the aluminum cage . If anyone as any suggestions it would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Nick
knowltoncafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:41 PM   #2

Thanks everyone for the info
Old 01-11-2011, 05:21 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Nick, somehow we missed this thread from a couple of days ago.

Comparing your truck to my 2006, I think the stats are similar.

Even if you have the 3.73 gears, with a crewcab and 6.5' bed, your maximum towing is rated at 9100 lbs. Check here: https://www.fleet.ford.com/showroom/...trp16May07.pdf The 303Bh lists a 8194 lb. dry weight. Add options, a battery, and propane tanks, you are going to be in the vicinity of 8600 lbs. empty. It would be hard to keep the load under 500 lbs. And the tow ratings are less if you don't have the 3.73s