Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 12:14 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
So disapponted with our new 2010 356rl lemon plus major slidout problems

I cannot even begin to explain how upset we our with our purchase. I am hear to tell you I think it is put together with staples, tape cheap caulk & cheap screws.

We had slidout problems before we ever left the lot on 6-25. It starts with the bedroom slide coming out about 2" & then moves to the front & back living room slides. It has been back to the shop & still not fixed should go back in a couple weeks. Makes for great traveling sure hope we don't run into rain & never mind it has to be stored with slides out.

If anyone needs more information on this let me know the slide problem continues to get worse we now have to help the front living room slide out by pushing on the upper corner & it has tore the crap out of the slide out looks like roof repair & seals will need to be repaired.

The roof bubbles in the heat & the dealer is saying it has to do with the glue the use on the fabric & we our ok as long as it does not tear.

On our first trip out we found out after the water heater elements burned up that they had the lines switched at the factory so we had to have it on bypass instead of RV for water to get to the water heater. (Now fixed)
6 I repeat 6 leaks in the water lines. How much fun is that no city water hook up for 10 days of vacation. We had to fill the holding tank & used the water pump. We still had to take the pressure off after using water. Bay got wet we had to empty everything out & let the doors open so it would dry out. (all but 1 is now fixed)

One of the drain valves will not push in all the way. No sewer hose provided even after it went in for repairs.

Caulking on both sides of the coach gone for the most part serviceman had to caulk after being asked twice.

We only received one spray hose for the spray port still waiting for them to give us another one. Why? The water is controlled at the rear spray port which is fine but you have to shut the water off to move the hose to the front port so I guess you have to have 2 people to use the front pot one to test the water in the front port another to control the hot & cold at the back port.

Bedroom seal twisted on the bottom woke up to wet carpet next to the head of the bed. Had to use a tray the rest the rainy weekend. Wet carpet in the front slide they explain is now fixed but never did explain where it was coming from. Salesmen said will we did have heavy rain. HELLO it should not matter how much it rains it should not leak. (untwisted & operating properly but seal was not glues back to the RV)

Several windows will not open all the way 2 of them are so tight it is not worth the effort. 1 of the screens had a hole in it another windows exterior seal was to small & had to be replaced. (screen replaced windows not fixed)

Regulator on the propane chirped every time you use propane. (now fixed)

Shelf below the TV for receiver or VCR but no hole to feed wires thru. Service man had no clue how to take the living room TV off the mount so we could hook our ourselfs the satellite receiver to the TV. ( figured out ourselves after 2 days & also drilled our own hole) Same problem with no hole for cords in the bedroom shelf either.

Cable to hold the bay door so it will not open all the way & lay against the hot water heater vent broken upon possession. (still not fixed)

Bedroom cabinet door warped (now fixed)

Walls are so thin in some areas I am afraid to use the outlet for fear I will put a hole in the wall or shove the outlet thru the wall.

Screws on the awning are already rusting and awning squeakslike all get out when opening & closing.

Carpet in the hallway already has a bubble in it & needs to be stretched if possible.

Battery box vent hose was torn & just laid in there. Their fix just tape it on.

Front electric jacks make a terrible clanking noise when they are in use.

We have had the camper since 6-25-2010 & it will be going in next week so they can tear into the slides & get to the cylinders in hopes of finding the problem. I am to the point I want it replaced or my money back.

I am sure there are some more minor things I am forgetting it is almost a joke every time something breaks So disappointed Has anyone else had this many problems?

I am really thing that this was the last one on the assembly line & they used all the left over pieces to build ours.

The dealers fix to the slideout problem was slideout locks which only made it worse never mind that it tore the wallpaper on one of the walls.

Luv to camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:15 AM   #2
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Sorry my post was so long just trying to get my warnings out has anyone else had this many problems Or similar slidout problems?

Luv to camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
NWJeeper's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,617
Sorry to hear of your problems. I don't think it is a normal occurance. I don't know why you accepted the rig in the first place, should have just left it on the lot and walked away.

I also don't think you need to post this rant in multiple sections of the forum, we get your point.
"I can fix it, and if I can't fix it, I can fix it so no one can fix it!"
Ed & Wendy
2009 Georgetown 378TS | 1998 Jeep Wrangler | 1998 Skeeter ZX202C
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:35 AM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Sorry you fell like I was ranting the truth is the truth. This is about giving other potential buyers heads up on things to watch for as I would not wish our bad luck on anyone.
As for leaving the lot we were assured & it was put in writing the hydraulic pump was bad & would be replaced As soon as we got back form vacation. We were on day 1 of our vacation & had friends at a lake 3 hours away who had been waiting for 5 hours for us to arrive so we could leave on vacation.
As for a double post I posted the 2nd one in the other forum after receiving an error when I tried to post it in this forum. I was surprised to see that it actually showed up in this forum.
Luv to camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 06:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 121
We appreciate you letting us know the details of the manuf. failures. Your experience to far to common in the rv industry. It was the same in the auto industry until Toyota and other "foreign" makers impressed Americans with their quality control.
granite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:26 PM   #6
Wanna Be Camper
SaskCampers's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,372
Originally Posted by granite View Post
We appreciate you letting us know the details of the manuf. failures. Your experience to far to common in the rv industry. It was the same in the auto industry until Toyota and other "foreign" makers impressed Americans with their quality control.
Your statement is wayy off the truth, it still is the same in the auto industry. Just ask my 2008 Ram 2500 that is going in for the 41st warranty repair on friday and that still won't fix the wandering steering issues that have plagued it since the day we picked it up and all the parts in the front end are in spec they just don't tell you that when all the parts in the front end at at the limits of in spec you end up with a truck with over 1/2" of play in the front end so is the auto industry any better umm no and as far as I am concerned the governments should have let them burn for the junk they make. As long as us the consumer keeps accepting the less than perfect quality these companies seem to think we will swallow they will keep giving us just what we accept. I say Here Here to Ya LUV TO CAMP let the whole world know you got a pile of junk and still make them fix it.

John & Deb
2011 F250 Lariat FX4 Crew Cab 6.2
2011 Flagstaff V-Lite 30WRLS
Days Camped 2013: 16 2014: 5 2015: 3
SaskCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
yvesm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 558
We had and still have problems with our 2011 2902SS. We have found that its easier to fix the small problems ourselves. When we get back this fall its going back to the dealer (or Forest River) for a lists of problems from poor quality workmanship and low quality material. Forest River products are low cost and middle of the line. Some of my friends have better quality coaches and trailers and they have few problems and great customer service (my dealer told us" its a Forest River Product, what do you expect"). I hope to get 3 to 5 years out of the trailer, then we will upgrade to a Tiffin coach or a Carriage 5th wheel. Hope you get your problems fixed.
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 08:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
Iggy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 5,887
Sorry to hear about all the problems you have had over the past year.

All I can say is your case is very rare because we have many satisfied customers here and no where has anyone had so much problems as you.

Don't get me wrong but raving here isn't the solution.
Have you had a 5th wheel before this one?
Who is your dealer?
Has your dealer been communication with Forest River?
Has your dealer been working trying solve the problem?
Who has your dealer been working with at Forest River?
Have you contacted Forest River directly?
Has Forest River made any concessions to you?
How many days has your rig been in for repairs?

Forest River has bent over backwards to insure their customers are satisfied. I would suggest to talk with someone at Forest River.

Good luck
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 49,000 miles
(2013 - 98 days) (2014 - 117 days) (2015 - 67 days) (2016 - 115 days)
USAF Retired - MSgt

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Central Kansas
Posts: 543
I sure feel BLESSED we have had no issues with our Rockwood 1809S Mini Lite that needed to be addressed
Everett & Joan after 60 years together. 2004 1/2 ton Chevy & 2011 Rockwood 1809S

Number of nights camped in 2012 65
Number of nights camped in 2013 82
Number of nights camped in 2014 105!
Number of nights camped in 2015 81
Emptypockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 12:58 AM   #10
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Iggy we have had it for 36 days & all problems occured within the firts 15 days. I have not contacted Forest River but have spoke to the salesmen who said with major problems like this they need to do something & then the owner who said " these are not major problems" & raved on about how Forest River was a top of the line coach. Yes we have had campers for over 20 years & traded in a 99 Newmar American Star & never had a problem one.

Thanks to everyone for your respones I was a little worried after the first respones from the jeeper guy.

Luv to camp is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.