Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 08:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 83
365 SAQ 2nd AC Unit

OK, having my other issues resolved I'm embarking on my next project. When I bought my 365SAQ I had the second AC unit installed in the front bedroom. It was wired and framed for the unit so I figured what the hell.

Apparently I was not specific enough with the dealer and the unit installed was a non-ducted Coleman Mach 3 with manual controls. The manual controls are not necessarily the problem, but I am a little disappointed that the unit is not ducted.

My question is that I have seem 365SAQs advertised as having a ducted second AC unit. Does this mean that perhaps something as simple as changing the plenum could enable me to "tap into" the duct work and start pushing air through the whole RV?

Has anyone added the second AC unit on their own and have first hand knowledge of the accessibility of the duct work? If I can accomplish ducting this unit for the expense of the alternate plenum I would love to do so, but I also hate to start down the path of tearing it all apart just to find out that I'm pretty much stuck with what I've got.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2013 Forest River Sierra 365SAQ, 7000# Axle Swap, 5th Airborne Air Ride
2010 Chevy 2500HD D/A, CC, Timbrens, Curt Q16 Slider

Nights Camped in 2015 -- 40
Nights Camped in 2016 -- 26
cfisher523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:09 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfisher523 View Post
OK, having my other issues resolved I'm embarking on my next project. When I bought my 365SAQ I had the second AC unit installed in the front bedroom. It was wired and framed for the unit so I figured what the hell.

Apparently I was not specific enough with the dealer and the unit installed was a non-ducted Coleman Mach 3 with manual controls. The manual controls are not necessarily the problem, but I am a little disappointed that the unit is not ducted.

My question is that I have seem 365SAQs advertised as having a ducted second AC unit. Does this mean that perhaps something as simple as changing the plenum could enable me to "tap into" the duct work and start pushing air through the whole RV?

Has anyone added the second AC unit on their own and have first hand knowledge of the accessibility of the duct work? If I can accomplish ducting this unit for the expense of the alternate plenum I would love to do so, but I also hate to start down the path of tearing it all apart just to find out that I'm pretty much stuck with what I've got.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks!
I added the my second A/C, but couldn't tell you right off hand if the duct work is accessible. From what I recall the vent box was completely framed in. I actually had to drill through the framing to get to the wiring. As for the ducted 2nd a/c it may have been a factory only order, but not completely certain. I'm not even sure at the moment where the vent is for the A/C up front. I put in a closeable vent on and close it off when I have 2nd A/C running. We personally like the fan noise.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.