Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 09:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
365saq 2nd A/C

We are in the process of ordering our 2014 365saq. I have talked to our dealer about changing the bedroom A/C to a low-profile 15000 unit which they are going to do.

My question is, Where we mainly camp there is a 30amp plug for the trailer and a regular 20amp plug. If I fix the 2nd unit (bedroom15000) on a separate 20amp cord and plug that into to the 20amp plug will this work I guess what I'm asking is what is the amps needed for a 15000btu air conditioner.

The main breaker in the box on the pole for the site is 60amp.
__________________

__________________
Dopedowg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 81
20 amps will run the 15k a/c fine. It actually uses a 20 amp breaker in the panel. I wired mine so that it is on a switch. It can either get power from the rv breaker panel"50amp" or flip the switch and plug in a 20 amp extension cord to a dedicated receptacle.
__________________

__________________
2013 365 SAQ
Rufinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:49 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopedowg View Post
We are in the process of ordering our 2014 365saq. I have talked to our dealer about changing the bedroom A/C to a low-profile 15000 unit which they are going to do.

My question is, Where we mainly camp there is a 30amp plug for the trailer and a regular 20amp plug. If I fix the 2nd unit (bedroom15000) on a separate 20amp cord and plug that into to the 20amp plug will this work I guess what I'm asking is what is the amps needed for a 15000btu air conditioner.

The main breaker in the box on the pole for the site is 60amp.
It also has a lot to do with the way the pedestal is wired. I have a 13.5 in the front bedroom and it will freeze you out. I have a cheater cord that will plug into the 30amp and 20amp, and then 50 amp cord plugs into it. Have used it with no problems, but it won't work on a GFI outlet. Also, the way the roof line slopes forward, the standard front AC is not any taller than the main 15 unit when mounted, and 13.5 and 15 have the same dimensions.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.