Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2014, 09:35 PM   #1
Member
 
cookie12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Moose Jaw, SK
Posts: 51
50A garage outlet

Don't know why I did not do this sooner. Recently ran #6 wire in garage attic and fished the outside wall and installed a 50A outlet. Have a subpanel in garage with basically nothing on it and installed the 50A breaker. Problem was with the reg outlet on a 15A breaker anytime a vacum and a/c was on the breaker would most all of the time trip. Now this is not a problem. On weekends we are not camping, and have company, we us it as a guest house. Anyone thinking about doing this, all I can say is don't hesitate it is worth it!
__________________

__________________
2014 Sierra 365SAQ
2011 Ford F350 King Ranch 6.7L Air Lift LoadLifter 5000, Air Lift WirelessONE, Reese Elite 18K w Fifth wheel Prep Package, H&S Mini Maxx
cookie12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,316
I put in a 30 amp last year then we upgraded to a 5th this year. Just use an adaptor since I doubt I will ever exceed that at home. At least we can have the AC on while working on it/cleaning it.
__________________

__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:47 PM   #3
Member
 
cookie12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Moose Jaw, SK
Posts: 51
You are right and took that into consideration. Will never probably even come close to using 30A but buddy had some #6 wire and thought if I am running it why not connect all the wires and make it a 50A. We have had friends also pull their rig to our acreage and had to use a extension cord and of course they would trip breaker when a/c was turned on. They will be able to an adapter to hook up as most TT's are 30A.
__________________
2014 Sierra 365SAQ
2011 Ford F350 King Ranch 6.7L Air Lift LoadLifter 5000, Air Lift WirelessONE, Reese Elite 18K w Fifth wheel Prep Package, H&S Mini Maxx
cookie12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,316
I should have put a 50A to begin with, knowing we would be getting a 5th wheel eventually, just not so soon. Since you got the wire from a buddy, good choice. I had to buy a 100 ft roll of 10 gauge since my breaker box and RV outlet are on opposite ends of the house. That cost enough, cant imagine what #6 wire would be
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
I keep thinking of doing this, keep reminding myself that I'm wanting to sell this place, then wish I would do it anyway! Lol!

If I need the AC I fire up the generator and run the AC through the 30A connection. Hey, they say it's good to exercise the gensets, right?

Next house I guarantee will have not only at least a 30A plug (Might even spring for 50A) I'm hoping to have a water spigot too. All in the future, right?
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shaunavon
Posts: 147
Hey cookie hope you researched the 50a wiring before unless you already know, that the 50a isn't a 240 connection but rather 2 120 connections. Don't wire it in as a 240... I have a 50 and 2 30's wired in at our farm for when company shows up, we have yet to use the 50. I understand since you had the wire awesome just really,hoping you wired it correctly hate to see you fry your electrical.
__________________
2014 Sierra 365 SAQ
2014 F350 CC DRW lariat ultimate kodiak brown, 65 gallon titan fuel tank, bak flip box cover, many mods to come.
ehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,986
We park our 5er at the house so having 50A outlet was required
Best.Mod.Ever.
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 2014 - 42 2015 - 56 Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:13 PM   #8
Member
 
cookie12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Moose Jaw, SK
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehorn View Post
Hey cookie hope you researched the 50a wiring before unless you already know, that the 50a isn't a 240 connection but rather 2 120 connections. Don't wire it in as a 240... I have a 50 and 2 30's wired in at our farm for when company shows up, we have yet to use the 50. I understand since you had the wire awesome just really,hoping you wired it correctly hate to see you fry your electrical.

The breaker is a double pole 50A so the plug end has 2 hots which go back to the breaker each wire to its own connection, common goes to the common rail and then the box and the ground wire are connected and goes back to ground in panel. Each spade in plug connector is 120V. Hope I have it hooked up correctly. It is working so I assume I do?? Does this sound right? I have had it hooked up for about 2 weeks now to the garage outlet.
__________________
2014 Sierra 365SAQ
2011 Ford F350 King Ranch 6.7L Air Lift LoadLifter 5000, Air Lift WirelessONE, Reese Elite 18K w Fifth wheel Prep Package, H&S Mini Maxx
cookie12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shaunavon
Posts: 147
Sounds like you have it if I remember correctly. Actually obviously you do lol if it hasn't fried it lol.
__________________
2014 Sierra 365 SAQ
2014 F350 CC DRW lariat ultimate kodiak brown, 65 gallon titan fuel tank, bak flip box cover, many mods to come.
ehorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 11:17 PM   #10
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehorn View Post
Hey cookie hope you researched the 50a wiring before unless you already know, that the 50a isn't a 240 connection but rather 2 120 connections. Don't wire it in as a 240... I have a 50 and 2 30's wired in at our farm for when company shows up, we have yet to use the 50. I understand since you had the wire awesome just really,hoping you wired it correctly hate to see you fry your electrical.
50 amp is wired the same whether you use it as 240 (the voltage measured across the 2 positive legs) or as 120 with both legs used separately. You just need to make sure your polarity is correct on all conections.
The 30 amps are usually the ones wired incorrectly since most older 3 prong 30s (commonly found on dryers or other house hold appliances) uses 2 positive legs and a neutral or ground, which makes it a 240 plug.
Rv 30 amps use 1 positive leg, a neutral and a ground....thus the 120v.

Ps. We have had a 50 amp service on our garage for a couple years now, and fixing to add a second one on the other side of the house so I can park the 5er in another location if desired. Love it!!

MillerTime- Future Sabre Handler!!
__________________

__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.