Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2016, 07:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
A few questions about my new 377FLIK

Well, we got the camper home today. The salesperson did a fine job going over pretty much everything. There are a few things that we missed though. Ok, here goes....

1) - Our 377FLIK has the front living room. How do the recliners recline? I was beginning to think they don't, but looking under them with a light, I can see all the hinges and springs. We cant find a button, or a strap or anything.

2) - Where is the inverter? There is a switch at the main controls for it. And I can hear it "hum" when I turn it on. It sounds like it is underneath the counter, but can't figure out how to get to it.

3) - Another question related to the inverter. Ok, in the outside battery compartment, there are two cables labeled "converter pos" and "converter neg". Both are heavy copper cables with crimped o-ring ends. The are not hooked up to anything. The are just zip-tied out of the way. Should they be hooked to the battery??

4) - Ok, last one. The furnace. I can see the vent on the outside of the camper, but do not see how to access the furnace. I ordered the camper with the polar package, and just want to verify that it has the bigger furnace? How do you get to it?

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you all very much..

Kasey
__________________

kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 08:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 691
Did you not do a walk thru on this?
On the Flik we looked at the recliner has a strap on the inside between the cushion and the divider.
The invertor is probably in the basement area behind the wall.
On the wires I don't have a clue.
The furnace should be behind that same wall in the basement.
May or may not help,but good luck
__________________

__________________

2011 Ram Mega Cab 3500 Larimie dually
2016 Chaparral 370FL
DaveandSue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 09:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 234
Ok, the recliners have a small pull lever on them on the inside part of the arm rest by the cushion. The inverter is in the front pass thru storage compartment, behind the wall having to the rear of the unit. Furnace is also behind there. As for the copper cables, the could be connections for landing/ leveling gear. I also have the polar package, that's how I found the furnace and inverter. I was checking the same things...lol
Wumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 09:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Thank you Wumba, I did find the pull levers for the recliners. I just didn't look hard enough the first time. I assumed that the furnace & inverter were behind that wall. I may have to get curious, and take a looksee behind it tomorrow.
Now the cables have me stumped. They look like they should be connected to the battery, having the crimped on rings on the end of them. I'm not sure. Ill keep searching. Maybe call FR. Ill wait to see if anyone else chimes in, as well.
Thank you
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 09:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Oh, one more thing. On your water heater. Is the heat switch for the propane inside, on the main panel? And your electric heat switch, outside on the water heater? Mine is. Is this common? I don't like it. Why couldn't they put both controls inside???
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 10:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 234
Yes on the switches. Outside controls electric and inside controls propane (dsi). Dunno, all of mine have always had them separate....... Do you have the level up system?
Wumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 10:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wumba View Post
Yes on the switches. Outside controls electric and inside controls propane (dsi). Dunno, all of mine have always had them separate....... Do you have the level up system?
Yes, on the level up system.
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 05:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 234
Hmm, mine does too, but I don't remember seeing the wires you mentioned. You have 2 batteries? Other than that, I'm stumped also.
Wumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 07:23 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,043
Are there any cables at all connected to your battery? Have you only checked out your RV while plugged in to shore power?

Bruce
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 10:12 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
A few questions about my new 377FLIK

Yes, there are other cables hooked up to the batteries. The only thing I've tried without being plugged in to shore power, were the front stabilizer jacks. And they worked fine. I'll see if I can't get a picture posted. Thanks.



377FLIK
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 12:19 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1457284574.089589.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	101188

Ok. I I switched off the shore power. The lights work. The refrigerator stayed on. The only things that didn't come on, were the television and the ceiling fan. I checked voltage on the two cables in the pic, and had 12v dc across the two. So I'm guessing that it does not hook up to the batteries.


377FLIK
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 01:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
CaptnJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 3,673
Although hidden, I have cables ready for a 2nd battery which I'll install. Already bouht the Perko switch.
__________________
2019 Montana 3761 FL
2019 F350 6.7 4X4 LB Dually
Edgewater 205 EX 150 Yamaha
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 01:17 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptnJohn View Post
Although hidden, I have cables ready for a 2nd battery which I'll install. Already bouht the Perko switch.

Right on. I do have two batteries. It is cut out of the pic. It's right next to the one in the pic, and has cables paralleling the two. I'm still stumped on these mystery cables.


377FLIK
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 07:37 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
rvpartime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 23
I also have the 2016 377 FLIK. When running on batteries, does your inverter light come on when you turn it on? We have the home refer. My refrigerator would not operate when shore power was disconnected. I had to connect the cables marked inverter to battery for inverter and frig to work.
We love our unit. Picked it up July of last year and camped 32 days un 2015
rvpartime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 08:06 PM   #15
Canadian Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,867
From what I'm seeing in your picture, those 2 wires are for connecting to an INverter which converts 12V DC from the batteries to 120V AC. You also have a CONverter that does the opposite - the converter converts from 120V AC to 12V DC. The converter is usually in a brown power centre with 120V AC breakers and 12V DC fuses.

Do you know if you have an inverter installed? If there is an inverter, it's not connected because if it was, the 120V AC appliances would work without shore power connected.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Signature 8290BS, Reese Revolution pinbox and B&W Patriot 18K hitch
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2011 Rockwood Signature 8293SS (2015 - 2018)
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 08:53 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by itat View Post
From what I'm seeing in your picture, those 2 wires are for connecting to an INverter which converts 12V DC from the batteries to 120V AC. You also have a CONverter that does the opposite - the converter converts from 120V AC to 12V DC. The converter is usually in a brown power centre with 120V AC breakers and 12V DC fuses.



Do you know if you have an inverter installed? If there is an inverter, it's not connected because if it was, the 120V AC appliances would work without shore power connected.

I have found both, the inverter and the converter. The inverter appears to be running. When I flip the inverter switch on, I do hear it running. There were a few 120v items that did not come on when I was off of shore power though. Should I hook the cables up to the battery and see if that solves it? Like I said, I check voltage across the cables, and I got about 12v dc.


377FLIK
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:16 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 488
Keep your salesman on speed dial or text , great RV
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:45 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
rvpartime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Your tv and ceiling fan only works when connected to shore power. Is your refrig a dc and gas or house 110 only unit? Mine unit has a 1000watt inverter for only the refrig
That ios the way mine works anyway
rvpartime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:49 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvpartime View Post
Your tv and ceiling fan only works when connected to shore power. Is your refrig a dc and gas or house 110 only unit? Mine unit has a 1000watt inverter for only the refrig

That ios the way mine works anyway

The refrigerator is a house 110v unit.
And yes, the fan and tv only work when hooked to shore power.
Does your unit have these cables? And are they hooked to the battery? Thanks





377FLIK
kasedian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:53 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
rvpartime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 23
They weren't when we picked up camper. We have a Whirlpool refrigerator and when I would disconnect shore power the frig would go out. Open door and no lights. Hookerd up the invertor cables and worked as it should.
__________________

rvpartime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


×