Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2015, 03:51 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
beechjet16mf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Peck Lake, MT
Posts: 113
Our GFCI is in the bathroom mounted in front of the sink. It powers all the others in our Flagstaff 27 RLWS. It failed and none of the others would work, but it would. It took me a while to find it. It has since been replaced.
__________________

__________________
beechjet16mf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 03:56 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Check in the basement also!
__________________

__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 61
Does your unit have a slide? My 2014 182G R-Pod had a small leak from the factory under the sink in the slide. It eventually shorted out a junction connection right under the sink baseboard and killed three outlets! I checked the GFI and even replaced it before I took it to the dealer and they traced the circuit back to the bad junction!
__________________
glfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:51 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
beech jet and glfillion, I am going to replace both gfci outlets and see if that fixes the problem. I have power to both gfci outlets. Go from there. Great advise. Thank you.
__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:14 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Update: I pulled both GFCI outlets.
Kitchen receptacle is GFCI, although only with line-in and no out-load wiring to other outlets. This is one is not the problem.
Bathroom receptacle is GFCI. It has both line-in and out-load wiring to other outlets. I checked the voltage on the line and load terminals, with and without the test trip set. The GFCI showed 120V to both line and load with trip reset, and 0V when tripped. This in not the problem either.
Breaker box has a trip switch for GFCI. 120V reading with the breaker shut and not in the trip free position.
Bottom line, every outlet has power except the three GFCI protected receptacles in the kitchen. There has got to be another GFCI outlet in this RV or I have a wiring issue that hasn't grounded yet. I'm concerned if the 2nd is true.
__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:33 PM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Did you look in the basement?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:38 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
with the kitchen loads being the ones missing power I would suspect that the load wire thats supposed to hook to the kitchen GFI is missing. Has the kitchens recpts ever worked? are they withing 6 feet of wet location where you know they are supposed to be gfi protected?
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:38 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
I found two outlets external to the RV. One near the speakers with retractable weather covers and the other in the basement. Both had power and neither was a GFCI reset receptacle.
__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:55 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Crockett, I bought this RV last week from the original owner that had it for 6 months. I overlooked checking all the outlets for power and took their word that there were no problems. Perhaps those outlets never worked, although they are required to be GFCI protected as they are all within a few feet of the kitchen sink. The GFCI labels are on those receptacles as well. I suppose what is bothering me the most is the unknown of this RV's wiring. I don't know if I'm missing a reclusive GFCI outlet, or if the problem is internal wiring. I do know the only GFCI outlet (in bathroom) with a load wire to other protected receptacles shows 120V.
I get that feeling that deep in the walls of this RV, there are two wires with caps on the ends that deserve to be connected, and aren't...
I plan on pulling the three kitchen outlets tonight and opening them up to check the wiring and contacts are good. Would love to see "hot" wires upon opening them up.
__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 05:08 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
maybe just pull the kitchen GFI and fish around a little for possibly the missing load wire...
__________________

__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sierra, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.