Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2015, 10:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Sierra 371rebh GFCI kitchen outlet

I have power to the outlet with GFCI near the refridgerator and stove. The other three kitchen outlets on GFCI protected circuits do not have power. Where is the GFCI reset for these three outlets? I have cycled the breaker and reset both the two GFCI outlets I have found (by stove and in bathroom). Anyone else have this problem?
__________________

__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:19 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Anyone know where I can get an electrical wiring schematic for the Sierra 371rebh? I may be spending the day with a multimeter and small lamp to make my own wiring schematic.
__________________

__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:33 AM   #3
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
I would unplug from shore power, pull the outlets and take the wires out of the push in slots and connect to the screw connections. The push in connections that FR uses are pretty spastic from a reliability standpoint.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,005
Check ALL Outlets for (Power) BEFORE you try to rewire!! Some (Units) have (Inverters) installed,so Unpluging (Shore Power) will NOT make it (SAFE) to work on your Elect.!! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:54 AM   #5
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
Check ALL Outlets for (Power) BEFORE you try to rewire!! Some (Units) have (Inverters) installed,so Unpluging (Shore Power) will NOT make it (SAFE) to work on your Elect.!! Youroo!!
What if the outlet that is dead was wired to the inverter?
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,005
Check all outlets from the inverter,and Kill the Power to the Inverter! Just trying to keep Members from (Electrocuting Themselves)!! Just (Unplug from Shorepower) is Very Bad Info. on the Units! Lots have Inverters installed now! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:11 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
thank you OldCoot and youroo. I am not a fan of electrical bites and doing the 60hz shuffle. I put a multimeter to every wire I'm going to touch, then do it again for good measure. Good call on the inverter. Opening the main breaker should keep things safe.
Three outlets on one circuit with bad wiring would be odd, although it is something I will look into.
__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rupkin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooterb View Post
I have power to the outlet with GFCI near the refridgerator and stove. The other three kitchen outlets on GFCI protected circuits do not have power. Where is the GFCI reset for these three outlets? I have cycled the breaker and reset both the two GFCI outlets I have found (by stove and in bathroom). Anyone else have this problem?
I would look for all the GFCI's and reset them, not just the 2 you found that may be close by.

Look by the back end of the trailer for a GFCI, if there is one back there, this could be the culprit. My sister-in-law's trailer has a GFCI under the window at the back of the trailer that works for a pluggin in the kitchen area at the middle of the trailer.

Just a thought, but hope it helps before you go nuts..........

John
__________________
07- Classic 2500 LT CC 4x4 SB Duramax/Ally
13-320RLT Crusader TE
Reese 16K Kwik Slide/Prodigy brake contoller
Rupkin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 01:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Rodgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington Illinois
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooterb View Post
I have power to the outlet with GFCI near the refridgerator and stove. The other three kitchen outlets on GFCI protected circuits do not have power. Where is the GFCI reset for these three outlets? I have cycled the breaker and reset both the two GFCI outlets I have found (by stove and in bathroom). Anyone else have this problem?
I had the same thing happen in my Sierra in the kitchen. Found out from my dealer the one in the bathroom is connected to some in the kitchen. Don't know why but I reset it and all was working again.
__________________
Rodgers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 01:56 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 26
Ks looking for Easter eggs and I am looking for a GFCI outlet. I definitely have a GFCI trip on the 3 kitchen outlets. Mea surfing 4.08VAC on those three with the GFCI breaker shut and 0.1VAC with the breaker open. I have looked high and low and still only find two outlets with resets, and have reset both. Going to have to call the FR folks on Monday. An electrical schematic would be wonderful about now. Thank yoy everyone For the advise.
__________________

__________________
Scooterb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sierra, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.