Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2015, 10:02 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 301
Over the years GFCI's can get weak. I have had that happen.
__________________

__________________
Myrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 10:25 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
hammer55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 455
GFI'S are always the culprit when they are involved, they don't belong out side, I have worked all my life outside and every time we had a power problem it was the gfi, I don't use them, they are junk for protection other than what they were first designed for, and that is the bathroom hair dryer or radio falling into the bath tub, other than that is is useless, JMHO, I don't have one in my house, and never will,,,,,,
__________________

__________________
Mark & Annie
2014 COACHMEN PURSUIT 27 KB
Modesto, Central California
hammer55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 11:07 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 313
Well that's odd. We camp at a state camp ground that only has 20 amp service, all with GFI outlets. I have never had a problem like this. Our camper is 30 amp service and we use an adapter.
__________________
Les & Heidi Kramer
2010 GMC Sierra SLE & 2014 Shamrock 23IKSS
Cleveland, OH
cpd1343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 04:44 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 145
I too have used the GFIC at my house with my 30 amp to 20 amp adapter without any issues. Runs A/C and lights ok.
__________________
cabranch47
2009 Flagstaff HW27SC (NTU 2014)
1999 Ford F150
cabranch47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 05:50 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 323
Yup you need to go from 50 to 30 and then down to 20, if you go from 50 to 20 the dog bone will not be wired properly, and yes it can trip breakers. Go and get quality dog bones for 50 to 30, and then 30 to 20 amp and it should work fine.
Happy Camping
here are some links to good dog bones
(Generator Power Cord, Marine Shore Power, Trailer Cord, RV Generator Adapter - Conntek, RV Power Cords, RV Power Outlet - Camping World
__________________
B.Smith
2010 Cedar Creek Silverback 35ts
2001 GMC 2500HD w/ Allison & 8.1
silverback 35ts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 01:11 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Magiccowinuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Tripping Breaker on house.

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverback 35ts View Post
Yup you need to go from 50 to 30 and then down to 20, if you go from 50 to 20 the dog bone will not be wired properly, and yes it can trip breakers. Go and get quality dog bones for 50 to 30, and then 30 to 20 amp and it should work fine.

Happy Camping

here are some links to good dog bones

(Generator Power Cord, Marine Shore Power, Trailer Cord, RV Generator Adapter - Conntek, RV Power Cords, RV Power Outlet - Camping World

I am currently plugged in and fully running on a 50 to 15 adapter right now with no problems. My money is on heating element.
__________________
Magiccowinuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 05:46 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Has the original poster used the 15 to 50 amp dogbone successfully before? Is the breaker tripping due to ground fault or overload? Maybe the circuit is just overloaded. Does the receptacle have other loads on it? A friend bought a new Class A and the new one overloaded the 20 amp service he had been using for his old Class A, just with the basic load, which included the residential refrigerator.
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 10:51 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
tripped break

I just recently bought a Flagstaff V light and as soon as I plugged it in it blew my gfs breaker too. I CALLED local rv dealer he said check water heater element and sure enough it was broken. I replaced it and everything is fine.
__________________
rvsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 10:52 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Magiccowinuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
I guess the real question is:

Is it the breaker tripping as the topic suggests or the GFCI as the first post states.

Giving the advice to get not use GFCI is stupid. Not only that, but it is usually code to have in specific locations. If a GFCI is giving you problems there is a bigger issue. GFCIs do go bad, but easy to test that, they come with test buttons.
__________________
Magiccowinuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 12:43 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper View Post
The GFCI outlets in the unit are causing the house GFCI to trip. You cannot have two GFCI on the same circuit. Try turning the breaker for the GFCI's off in the unit and plug back into the house.
When home I always plug my 5er into an outside 20 amp GFI and have no problems at all.

Jim
__________________

__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.