Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2014, 09:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
50amp plug at a 30amp receptacle

Thanks to everyone for answering my previous question....but I've got another one if you could help. What do I have to be careful of when I'm using a 30amp plug only when a 50 isn't available. Can I run one ac? Could I damage anything electrical? Thanks in advance!

Dirk
__________________

__________________
BeachAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 09:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,005
You can use up to (30Amp). You can run (1)AC. You will prob.trip the (Post 30) if you try to use more. No harm. Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 09:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
you "should" trip the breaker on the pole before any damage is done. One AC would be fine, just not to many electrical appliances at once, such as water heater, coffee pot, micro, toaster, hair dryer, etc. Those add up fast.
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 09:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Road-King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 645
I have a related question. Those 30 amp to 50 amp dog-bones, I assume they are wired to give juice to both legs, for a total of up to 30 amps? I have one those cheaters that would give me 30 amps to one leg and 15 amps to the other, if available at the post.

The reason I ask is I installed a surge guard in my new 50 amp 5er and I noticed that both A/C's were on the same leg...
__________________
Russ & Kim
2014 Alpine 3600RS
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 4X4
2008 Harley Davidson Road King 105th Anniversary
(2011-5 bad year)(2012-40)(2013-45)(2014-23)
Road-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,506
Dirk, you should drop in on your other thread and let people know that you have been reading their posts.

They will be more likely to answer your future questions.

Happy Camping
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:32 PM   #6
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
If the CG post is 30A, that's probably all that's available, whether from a pair of residential 15 A sockets or an RV 30A socket. I wouldn't assume that you could get any more current by using the residential outlets + the 30A RV outlet. I think you'd blow the breaker on the post.

There are a lot of CGs that haven't moved into the 50-amp world yet.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 10:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Road-King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 645
Thanks F and E, I do understand that I can only get what amps the post has. Those cheaters are not magic.

Still my question is does those 30 amp male to 50 amp female, dog bones, give juice to both legs? I assume they do.

Also is it normal in a 50 amp setup for both A/C's to be on the same leg?
__________________
Russ & Kim
2014 Alpine 3600RS
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 4X4
2008 Harley Davidson Road King 105th Anniversary
(2011-5 bad year)(2012-40)(2013-45)(2014-23)
Road-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 10:40 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road-King View Post

Still my question is does those 30 amp male to 50 amp female, dog bones, give juice to both legs? I assume they do.

Also is it normal in a 50 amp setup for both A/C's to be on the same leg?
Yes, the dogbone will share/jump (see chart below) the 120 volt 30 amps across both the L1 and L2 lines of the 50(x2) amp RV connection. This is why you must be absolutely certain when using the adapter, to make sure you don't plug into a 240 volt 30 amp outlet..............which does happen. If you plug into a 240 volt 30 amp outlet, it will send 240 volts down both legs (L1 and L2) and fry some stuff.

ALWAYS make sure the 30 amp you are plugging into is 120 volts ONLY.



I don't think it is normal for both AC's to be on the same line/leg. Usually from what I have seen, they are on separate legs/lines, but maybe others with 50 amp RV's will chime in.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.