Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-30-2017, 01:16 PM   #1

early winter driving question

I am new to 5th wheel driving. So far all our driving has been in the spring to fall travel. The better side does not like winter driving very much, although she loves winter. On pulling the 5th wheel, is it a good idea to put chains on the trailer as well as the truck when needing to? Not wanting to go where need to, but mother nature has ways of putting you in the situation. Thanks for ideas. Also, both axles or just one? and which one?
grandpamuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 01:25 PM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

If the weather is bad enough you think you need chains... you better not attempt going anywhere.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 01:26 PM   #3

I wouldn't put chains on a trailer, there's no point as there are no drive axles.

2017 GMC SLT HD All Terrain Crew Cab (6' 6" Box) 2012 Roo 23SS
E2 Trunnion WDH (1,000 lb / 10,000 lb)
Dave Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 01:28 PM   #4

Im new to 5th wheels too but I wouldnt have even thought about chains on my older TT let alone my 5er. If the weather is that bad where Im thinking about needing chains on my TV abd 5er, Im not towing anywhere. PERIOD.

Nights Camped (2018-16) (2017-16) (2016-13) (2015-13)
SuicideSaints is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 02:13 PM   #5
Always Learning

I echo the others- if I need chains, I don't want to be towing.

But, in a worst case scenario- tractor trailers chain their trailer wheels, so I would too.
Old 08-30-2017, 02:24 PM   #6
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
I echo the others- if I need chains, I don't want to be towing.

But, in a worst case scenario- tractor trailers chain their trailer wheels, so I would too.