Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2018, 05:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Unhappy Need help with my electric fireplace, please

Hello to you all,

Having problem turning my electric furnace on and off. It seems the switch doesn't click on or off, so I am presuming I have to change the switch. But my big problem is how do I access the switch? How can I get the front panel off? I would really appreciate someones help. Thank you so much in advance.
__________________

Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 06:10 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,281
What year and model Wildcat has an electric furnace controlled by a clicking switch? My Wildcat has a propane furnace controlled by a thermostat? Experts here will need more information.
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 06:15 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
So sorry, I didn't explain myself very well. Actually it is the electric fireplace I was talking about.

It is a 2012 Wildcat 313RE

Thanks
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 08:31 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,281
Have you reset the furnace breaker in your electrical panel?

Does your unit have a remote control you can try? If so, fresh batteries?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 09:36 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Thank you for your reply. I have reset the furnace breaker, but nothing happens. I have a remote, but I think the batterie is dead, have never used it. Will replace it today. But I still think it is the switch. There is no click when you turn it on or off. Doesn't seem like there is contact being made.

Changing the switch doesn't seem like it would be a complicated job, but still can't figure out how to access it. The whole panel has tv and furnace all in one piece, and don't really want to disassemble everything to get to the switch.

All help is really, really appreciated.
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 09:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
CC75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Near Dallas
Posts: 210
Hold the switch down for a couple of seconds. Seems that my electric fireplace does not come on instantly either. Other than that it has been working great.
CC75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 10:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Ok, tried holding the switch for a couple of seconds and still not working. Have also tried to reset main breaker, again no luck. It was working great until about two weeks ago.
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 01:22 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 20
Fireplace

My fireplace quit working last year. The outside frame slides up for removal. Then there were a couple of screws holding the fireplace box in place. Removed the screws and the box slid out. The fireplace actually plugged into an outlet behind the wall. When I plugged it into another outlet it worked perfectly. When I took it to dealer they plugged it back into it's original outlet and it worked. Go figure!
mikej248 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 01:52 PM   #9
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,312
Titled edited from furnace to fireplace
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 07:56 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,208
the OP has stated that the switch as gone from CLICKING to NOT clicking. Pretty much tells me the switch is broken. Moving the switch position to on and holding it down will not make it work. He is asking for advice as to how to access the now non-working switch.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 11:17 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
That is exactly what I need to know. How to access the switch. Thank you
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 11:25 AM   #12
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 903
Mine has a trim board over the top that you remove then the is an upside down U shaped metal trim that slides up and pulls out. then the 4 screws that actually hold the fireplace are exposed.

no idea if yours will be the same but probably similer at least
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 11:39 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre C. View Post
That is exactly what I need to know. How to access the switch. Thank you
A picture would help.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 05:44 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Yes a picture will be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 03:49 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre C. View Post
Yes a picture will be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Yo, Pierre, We need a picture from you. Find your remote and replace the batteries. It SHOULD work fine.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 08:23 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
Hello again,

I replaced the battery from the remote, no success there. Here is a photo of my fireplace. Hope it is helpful. Thanks Sorry photo is upside down. I will try and correct this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180329_091201.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	223.9 KB
ID:	166523  
Pierre C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 07:52 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 49
First turn off the breaker to it.

Now look for screws that hold the entire fireplace in its position. They may be down at the floor or into the side of the trim. Basically they make a box that the FP slides into and then is screwed into place. Once you pull the FP from this box you should be able to see the back of it and find some access to the switches. Look for pieces of trim around it that can be removed and the mounting hardware might be under that.
Parrott_head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:12 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,256
Pierre:

You should also provide any info you can on the make/model of the fireplace. You might not be able to tell the model number until you get the front cover off, but the remote control should at least state the makers name on it. That may help someone with the same make/model help you.

Knowing the make/model of your RV doesn't always help as the manufacturers swap component suppliers all the time.

I'm also assuming you don't have a owners manual for it?
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:14 PM   #19
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wilderness CG, WI
Posts: 3,354
The switch on my fireplace doesn't click loud enough to hear it unless it's dead quiet. The power for my fireplace is on the same breaker as the microwave. If I'm using the fireplace then turn on the microwave a relay turns off the fireplace. Does your microwave work?
__________________

__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989, seasonal since 2000
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
The Faster I Go, The Behinder I Get.
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


×