Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-17-2012, 12:23 AM   #1

new to the fifth wheel camping world.

Hey guys i am new to this camping in a camper i have always used tents. We just bought a 2012 Wildcat 323QB. Just wanted to know some inns and outs of the trailer and camping with a fifth wheel. Like set up, rig out, packing, loading, traveling, really any info about anything would be awesome. Thanks guys lookin forward to getting out this summer!!!!!!
muzbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:28 AM   #2

check those mirrors while turning..... WIDE...and ..Slow ....while pulling off the highway for fuel/food...etc
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:41 AM   #3

As for how the unit acts when pulling. I would find an empty parking lot, get some road cones and pratice turning and backing. You could also pratice hooking and unhooking while there. I found this to be more helpful than anything else.

If your unit is at your house you can just pratice all of the other things related to the unit. Check out the posts on this fourm, it contains much information that you will find usefull.
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:40 AM   #4
JAYCO Representative

Congrats on your purchase! Welcome to the Wildcat family!
Wildcat Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:01 AM   #5

Thanks everyone the family is very excited looking forward to camping this summer!!!!!!! In style not a tent like it has been for lot lot of years. LOL
Old 01-18-2012, 01:08 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus

Congrats on the new camper!

To expand on what 'cardinal4fun' said, in the empty parking lot, see if you have clearance between the camper front and the truck cab going forward with the steering at lock. Good to check as I see that you have as short bed. I'm assuming that you have a sliding hitch for tighter maneuvering?

Dave