Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013, 08:28 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
davec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seminole, FL
Posts: 18
well I just got done trying looping the cable in to and bypassing the amplifier, no luck, and I even disconnected all three wires and I still get sat. at the loop junction as Firefighter's photo shows. Air TV works thru out (as I found when I disconnected all wires from the amplifier) so I don't think it is a break in the cable anywhere, it's like there is a switch that I am missing cause sat stops at the loop junction. Well I do thank you both for your help but I believe it might be time to bring in the big guns as it's only a week old......yuk, warranty work.
__________________

__________________
Dave, Ana, and Knox
2015 Silverado 2500HD
6.6L Duramax Diesel
2014 Wildcat 293REX
davec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 236
We put our sat. Box up there and hook up both cables and have sat. In the whole camper. But all of them show the same channel. If you have a box that does RF instead of IR it's no problem because you can control it from anywhere in the camper.
__________________

__________________
the.wilsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:49 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by davec View Post
well I just got done trying looping the cable in to and bypassing the amplifier, no luck, and I even disconnected all three wires and I still get sat. at the loop junction as Firefighter's photo shows. Air TV works thru out (as I found when I disconnected all wires from the amplifier) so I don't think it is a break in the cable anywhere, it's like there is a switch that I am missing cause sat stops at the loop junction. Well I do thank you both for your help but I believe it might be time to bring in the big guns as it's only a week old......yuk, warranty work.
You have several cables in your RV. You need to be focusing on the one that goes from the outside of your RV to the top connection on that jumper wall-plate. Connect that top connector to the dish input on your receiver. (If your receiver has a modulator (eg, coax) output, you can connect that to the bottom connection on that jumper wall-plate.) Connect your receiver to your TV with an HDMI cable if possible. Turn the booster off (no light) on your antenna booster control plate. That should work.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 04:22 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Sat hook up

Quote:
Originally Posted by davec View Post
That is exactly what mine looks like just a different location.
What is the purpose of the jumper? My 32rl sterling had the same orange jumper.
__________________
rlbwatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlbwatts View Post
What is the purpose of the jumper? My 32rl sterling had the same orange jumper.
The jumper continues the cable to the back of the antenna booster control where the "Park Cable" signal can be delivered to all the TVs in the RV (when the booster is turned off). If you want to use the cable for a Sat dish, you can (and must) intercept the signal before it gets to the booster control, and this gives you a place to do that.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:16 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
davec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seminole, FL
Posts: 18
After messing around with it I came to that conclusion, and things are working. The only exposed wire in the camper is the HDMI cable to the TV. For the outside I split at the cable connection into the camper and ran another cable to the outside TV sat. box, I will work on hiding the cables at a later time.
__________________
Dave, Ana, and Knox
2015 Silverado 2500HD
6.6L Duramax Diesel
2014 Wildcat 293REX
davec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 06:48 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
My satellite receiver does not have a modulator output to connect to the bottom connector of the jumper wall plate. Any suggestions how to get the satellite signal to the master bedroom?
__________________
forder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:07 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
slide5r4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 280
Welcome to the forum!

Give us a some more information so we can offer the best solutions. What kind of camper do you have (year, make and model)? What type of satellite service are you using, Dish or DirecTV?
__________________
Kevin & Janine
2006 Dodge 2500 Megacab CTD 2WD
2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS
Pullrite Superglide 16K Hitch
slide5r4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:34 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
We have a 2012 Wildcat 313RE and we have direct tv. We have figured out how to get satellite in the living room ( use HDMI to connect to tv) but cannot figure out how to get it to the bedroom. We are using a HD DVR in SD mode because our satellite dish does not pickup HD. The back of the receiver does not have a coax output to connect to the jumper wall plate. Any suggestions would be great.
__________________
forder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:09 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
slide5r4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 280
Let me preface my advice here by stating that by no means am I the resident DirecTV guru. You should be able to get a standard def signal to the bedroom TV using a passive multi switch. Here's a link to one sold at Radio shack.

RadioShack Satellite Passive Multi-Switch : Satellite Multi-Switches | RadioShack.com

Do you have a single satellite "in" connection on the outside of your rig or do you have a separate one for your bedroom? If you only have one connection on the outside of your trailer chances are that the bedroom is only wired for OTA/cable signal. If that is the case, you'll have to run coax to the bedroom to get your satellite signal there. That would either be done by wiring a jumper in the wall plate where your main TV connects (Do a search on this forum and you should find instructions on how to do this mod) or running a cable through the window or up through the basement via a bedroom dresser which is what we did.

DirecTV HD systems are easier to get signal to other locations in the trailer by using a SWiM (Single Wire Multi-switch) but upgrading to HD can cost you a couple of bucks for the new dish and tripod. Worth it IMHO.
__________________

__________________
Kevin & Janine
2006 Dodge 2500 Megacab CTD 2WD
2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS
Pullrite Superglide 16K Hitch
slide5r4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.