Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2019, 05:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Splitter locations

We have a 2019 28sgx 5er and our Directv service only works when directly hooked up from dish to box and doesn’t work when going through RV. We were told that we need to switch out the current splitter with a direct SMiW splitter. Does anyone have any suggestions on where the splitter(s) might be located? We have already checked behind the panel outside where the incoming jacks are. Thanks.
__________________

Ohiocampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 06:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
gooiebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 152
Our Rockwood had splitters in the walls at the faceplate locations. Only one was connected correctly.
Don't know if this helps but wherever there is a a/v faceplate would be a good place to start.
__________________

__________________
2019 Della Terra 29k2s
2014 Toyota Tundra 5.7
gooiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 06:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Summit Township
Posts: 425
We had a splitter changed in our 2019 Hemisphere under warranty, they said it was in the ceiling.
__________________
2019 Hemisphere 272RL
2007 Silverado 2500HD 6L
Cabinfever97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 06:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
Posts: 4,991
Normal TV antenna splitters with not work with satellite antenna systems for Dish or DirectTV. Completely different frequencies and there is a need to pass dc voltages for the LNA and/or SWM controls.


Since you are using DirectTV, and it sounds like you are using a SWM antenna, your splitter needs to look like this:


https://www.solidsignal.com/pview.as...xoCdYgQAvD_BwE


It needs to have a port for your power inserter
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 11:34 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Thanks for the tips!!!
Ohiocampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 11:39 AM   #6
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,969
Do you not have a satellite connection on the outside of your R/V?
Many newer units do and they are a 'home run' into the tv area. (no splitters)
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 11:59 AM   #7
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Do you not have a satellite connection on the outside of your R/V?
Many newer units do and they are a 'home run' into the tv area. (no splitters)
Problem is that it seems to be reality that a large portion of new RV's are completely wired wrong when it comes to the TV coax.

My last two RV's, both purchased brand new, had to be rewired by me to make the TV systems work.



As for the location of the splitters, just like with the 50-50 chance that maybe the wiring from the factory was correct...you never know where you might find them located!

I even found one in my 5'ver that didn't even need to be there...

It was used just to connect two coax ends together...and the signal in was hooked up to the signal out of the splitter.



Splitters are one-way transmission, which meant that the signal stopped at that splitter.
JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 12:04 PM   #8
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnD10 View Post
Problem is that it seems to be reality that a large portion of new RV's are completely wired wrong when it comes to the TV coax.

My last two RV's, both purchased brand new, had to be rewired by me to make the TV systems work.



As for the location of the splitters, just like with the 50-50 chance that maybe the wiring from the factory was correct...you never know where you might find them located!

I even found one in my 5'ver that didn't even need to be there...

It was used just to connect two coax ends together...and the signal in was hooked up to the signal out of the splitter.



Splitters are one-way transmission, which meant that the signal stopped at that splitter.
I won't disagree with you John that 'some' R/Vs are coax nightmares.
But... I have to add that my last two Flagstaffs were not.
Everything worked as per planned including the 'home run' SAT connection.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 12:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
Posts: 4,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
I won't disagree with you John that 'some' R/Vs are coax nightmares.
But... I have to add that my last two Flagstaffs were not.
Everything worked as per planned including the 'home run' SAT connection.
Yep..they have to be homerun for SAT. TV splitters won't work at all.
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 06:21 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Do you not have a satellite connection on the outside of your R/V?
Many newer units do and they are a 'home run' into the tv area. (no splitters)
We do, however from what i have been told by numerous people, the splitters installed inside the unit are not Directv compatible, only Dish Network will work when hooking up to your outside connections. We need to swap ot the existing splitter to the (green) Directv splitter, but cannot locate them. We could switch to Dish but we have 6 months left on our contract.
Ohiocampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 06:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
Posts: 4,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohiocampers View Post
We do, however from what i have been told by numerous people, the splitters installed inside the unit are not Directv compatible, only Dish Network will work when hooking up to your outside connections. We need to swap ot the existing splitter to the (green) Directv splitter, but cannot locate them. We could switch to Dish but we have 6 months left on our contract.
Even if you got Dish, you probably need a different splitter.
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:01 PM   #12
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,969
If you have a dedicated SAT connection there should be no splitters. The cable from the outside SAT connection goes directly to the inside SAT connection near the tv. That's why it's called a 'home run.'

If you want to split it to other areas of the R/V you usually have to get creative. Not in EVERY case though. Again, in my current 5th wheel, I have a second 'home run' that goes from the living area TV to the bedroom tv.

There are splitters in the cable/antenna coax cables but they should be isolated from the SAT connection.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:23 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Oh wonderful!
Ohiocampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:24 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
No, from what others have told us, ( those who have Dish) no issues. We will continue to investigate! We get sat, but wiring directly to tv.
Ohiocampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 10:45 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 518
Our Wildcat had ALL the coax going up to and through the booster in the bedroom, even though there's no T.V. there and we don't plan to add one. The "Satellite/Cable" coax connector in the pass through went to the splitter/booster too, which will not work. I rand a dedicated coax from the connection to the main T.V. and left the other one connected to the booster. I just pull the new one out and connect the receiver, then the portable dish connects to the "Satellite/Cable" make connector in the pass through. I'll add another connector for "Cable" when I get a chance but we rarely are at a park with decent cable so not a priority. Right now that coax is just laying inside the pass through, hook up area.
nayther is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 10:54 AM   #16
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
The only time I ever use park cable is if there are no over the air channels to be had...
__________________

JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, location

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


×