Old 04-13-2016, 05:14 PM   #1
Wildcat 275 CKX Need advice please.

Got offered a killer deal on a 2016 Wildcat 275 CKX today. I've read some of the posts about the slides leaking. Can anyone tell me for sure that there is a quality issue with the Wildcats or are they a good quality unit. I'm new to this and need all advice you can give. Wasn't really ready to purchase until this fall but I'm afraid this one will be gone and won't get this kind of deal again. I just know that on forums you usually get the people that have problems but few people brag about how good things are. Thanks

dbackerjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 10:20 PM   #2
You can find a few "bragging" threads on this forum. But, as you say, it's just the nature of the forum beast to spend time on problems.

I can't help you with the slide leaking issue other than to say that my slides don't leak. I don't camp in the rain --- mostly because of where we live. When it's raining, my slides are closed and I'm home.

I'm pretty pleased with the over all quality offered by Forest River and I would buy mine all over aging if given the choice.

bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 10:58 PM   #3
Seasoned Rookie
We have a 2014 Wildcat 312QBX. We haven't noticed the slides leaking and we have been set-up in some pretty heavy rains with the slides out and also towing down the road with the slides in. I think one secret is when leveling up the RV, try to ensure the RV and slides are as level as possible. In our case, since both slides are on the same side, we try to make that side about an 1/2 inch or so low so water runs out and away instead of towards the seals.

We did have the upper seal replaced under warranty on our large slide because the seal was tearing on the corners where it rubbed on the slide itself. Not sure if I had that to do again that I would replace it though as I don't think it has made much difference.