Old 06-26-2018, 03:55 PM   #1

Battery Help

Hi fellow RVers. I'm new to this whole journey and certainly no genius when it comes to electrical things. I've tried to do some googling but I really don't understand so I'm hoping someone here can explain.

We have a Wildwood Xlite 271BHXL. The dealer gave us one 12V battery an Interstate HD-24DP. Our first dry trip to the beach we drained the battery in about 36 hours just using the water pump when needed, one LED light inside just briefly, etc. The fridge was on the propane setting. We are considering either adding another 12V for around $100 or trading the one we have and getting two 6V to the tune of about $300 with the credit for trading our 12V.

Anyone have experience with one or another of these options? We won't be dry camping for more than 3-4 days max. We do have the setup for the GoPower system which is $680 so we may get that in the near future or considering one of the Honda portable generators for $1k but those are costly and I'm gathering we would still probably want the two 6V battery system if we go with solar.

The guy at Interstate batteries thinks the two 6V system might run the AC which is a single 13,500BTU but I find that hard to believe.

Help me understand what works for you!

mrscloonan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 04:09 PM   #2
Site Team