Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2013, 03:28 AM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Have to wait till Monday for the rv guy. here's some pics of the pedestal. The gap is probably 1/8th inch at the bottom. I guess it's the thickness of the wire that is keeping the 50 amp plug from sitting square. Some of the other employees with 50 amp rigs have even bigger gaps and have no issues.
The thing where I am pulling some fuses and not having a red light come on when the fuse is pulled, it sounds like that may be a main symptom.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	securedownload2.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	39739   Click image for larger version

Name:	securedownload3.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	39740  
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:41 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Your plug is fine. Did you try turning that 50-amp pair of breakers in the pedestal off and back on again? The idea to try a 30 to 50 "dogbone" adapter is great. See if you can borrow one from someone else to give it a try.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:36 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 1,803
Is there power to the box at all? Get a meter and check the box. Plug in something (fan?) to the far right plug in and see if it works. If it does then there is power to the pedestal. It you have a multi meter check the 50 amp. Who is running the 'camp ground'? they should know if there is power to each plug at the pedestal
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:46 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdc1899
Have to wait till Monday for the rv guy. here's some pics of the pedestal. The gap is probably 1/8th inch at the bottom. I guess it's the thickness of the wire that is keeping the 50 amp plug from sitting square. Some of the other employees with 50 amp rigs have even bigger gaps and have no issues.
The thing where I am pulling some fuses and not having a red light come on when the fuse is pulled, it sounds like that may be a main symptom.
Any ideas?
Thanks
All those fuses are 12volt service ony, have no connection to your a/c service, the lighted fuse circuits are new, can still remove each fuse and check for blown element. None are for a/c.

Your a/c problem remains in coach wiring or shore power fault.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:51 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
All those fuses are 12volt service ony, have no connection to your a/c service, the lighted fuse circuits are new, can still remove each fuse and check for blown element. None are for a/c.

Your a/c problem remains in coach wiring or shore power fault.
There has been power to the living room side of the trailer and in the bathroom and bedroom. The GFCI outlet in the bathroom does not work and none of the other GFCI outlets work. I have an extension cord for the fridge and one for the stove and ran them to outlets on the side that has electricity.
Just an hour ago the electric in the rest of the house has been doing like a brown out type of thing. The lights are very dim and fluctuate. The propane sensor rang the alarm a couple of times. ??
The 12000 btu window a/c is working fine.
I purchased this fancy rv from All American Coach out of Ohio. I wonder if they purchase new units that were rejected for sale at certified FR dealers? This rv started as a mildly sour lemon and it is getting worse.
I may have to put the wife and kids up in a hotel and pay someone to haul this destination trailer to Mathis Texas ( 2 hours away and the closest Forest River dealer) . It is still well within the one year warranty.
__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:07 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
That just indicates that your Converter (battery charger) is in the electrical side of things that isn't working so your 12v battery is dying. At this point, if you're not willing to try the 30 to 50 adapter, I think it's probably a good idea to shut everything down (including the battery disconnect switch) and move to a hotel until you can get an electrician.

Edit: If by some chance you have a residential fridge (that doesn't need 12v), you could leave the AC power on to keep that alive. If you have a normal RV fridge, it's going to stop working with the battery so there's no point in leaving the electricity on (but no harm either I suppose).
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:03 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
That just indicates that your Converter (battery charger) is in the electrical side of things that isn't working so your 12v battery is dying. At this point, if you're not willing to try the 30 to 50 adapter, I think it's probably a good idea to shut everything down (including the battery disconnect switch) and move to a hotel until you can get an electrician.

Edit: If by some chance you have a residential fridge (that doesn't need 12v), you could leave the AC power on to keep that alive. If you have a normal RV fridge, it's going to stop working with the battery so there's no point in leaving the electricity on (but no harm either I suppose).
Thanks
Someone just did a voltmeter check on the pedestal and the left side had 120 but the right side and the bottom showed no voltage.
Is it safe to say that the Grand Lodge is not the issue?
The fridge is a residential Amana.

Can I just hook my jumper cables from my cars battery to the rv battery and charge it up?

Thanks again.
__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:10 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Your plug is fine. Did you try turning that 50-amp pair of breakers in the pedestal off and back on again? The idea to try a 30 to 50 "dogbone" adapter is great. See if you can borrow one from someone else to give it a try.
I'm calling around now to see if someone has one in stock. It will be cheaper to get one of those than finding a room for all of us. I wonder how many electrical things I can have on if I only have a 50 amp supply?
Thanks again.
__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:16 PM   #29
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdc1899 View Post
Thanks
Someone just did a voltmeter check on the pedestal and the left side had 120 but the right side and the bottom showed no voltage.
Is it safe to say that the Grand Lodge is not the issue?
The fridge is a residential Amana.

Can I just hook my jumper cables from my cars battery to the rv battery and charge it up?

Thanks again.
Have you had time to read the links I PM'd you yet?

Yes, like we have said, it appears you are only receiving one 50 amp leg, and not the other 50 amp leg from the outlet/pedestal. This is a common occurance.

Did you mean to say in the previous post, how many things can you run on a 30 amp supply if using the adapter?

You can usually run your lights, television, one air-conditioner and the microwave at the same time on 30 amps.......but not the water heater on electric, or a hair dryer. If you need to use those, you will most likely have to turn the air conditioner or microwave off.

Wal-Mart usually carries the 50/30 amp adapter in their little RV section in automotive. At least all the ones around me do.

Dogbone type:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Prime-Wire...andle/22025553

Straight type:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Road-Power...ingMethod=p13n
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:21 PM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Have you had time to read the links I PM'd you yet?

Yes, like we have said, it appears you are only receiving one 50 amp leg, and not the other 50 amp leg from the outlet/pedestal. This is a common occurance.

Did you mean to say in the previous post, how many things can you run on a 30 amp supply if using the adapter?

You can usually run your lights, television, one air-conditioner and the microwave at the same time on 30 amps.......but not the water heater on electric, or a hair dryer. If you need to use those, you will most likely have to turn the air conditioner or microwave off.

Wal-Mart usually carries the 50/30 amp adapter in their little RV section in automotive. At least all the ones around me do.

Prime RV Adapter, 30 Amp Plug and 50 Amp Connector With Indicator Light and Handle: Electrical : Walmart.com
Thanks
The walmart near me doesn't have it. I'm calling the San Antonio stores.
Can I charge the RV 12v battery with my car battery using jumper cables?
__________________

__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.