Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 07:05 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sherdep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Cloud FL
Posts: 1,565
you could also go get one of the outlet testers that you plug into the outlet to verify it has voltage to narrow down which outlet has the issue - Home Depot sells them pretty cheeap - it also has a black button in the center so you can test GFI outlets as well
If you are savy with a multimeter you could use that as well but if you are not careful you could cross the leggs while checking the outlet and get a nice blue surprise
__________________

__________________
2011 Rockwood Mini Lite 2306 - Matt
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Qaud Cab 4x4 with 35" tires and 3.92 gears, Dynatech Longtube Headers & Fabtech 6" lift + Superchips with shift Tuning
Nights Camped 2011 (37) - 2012 (16)-2013 (2) -2014 (5) -2015(0)
USMC 91 - 95 - F/A-18 Aviation Ordnance
sherdep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,904
Does the AC and microwave work. If they are out too, then check the main breaker in the campground pedistal box. Maybe that got tripped somehow due to age, or some other reason. All your lights in the TT are 12 Volt so, if the breaker outside is tripped, you're NOT recharging your coach batterie(s) either.
__________________

__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"[/I][/B]
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:15 PM   #13
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5
Does the AC and microwave work. If they are out too, then check the main breaker in the campground pedistal box. Maybe that got tripped somehow due to age, or some other reason. All your lights in the TT are 12 Volt so, if the breaker outside is tripped, you're NOT recharging your coach batterie(s) either.
The A/C and appliances work. Other outlets also work. Just a few don't.
__________________
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,904
Definatly sounds like something related to the circuit you were on at the time. Does your bunkhouse have a bathroom or were you plugged into the regular plug that the kids would plug their "toys" into? If you were in the bathroom, it's probably a GFCI circuit and you may have a tripped GFI outlet somewhere. Find the outlet(s) with the buttons and test & reset them. Recheck the breakers in your power panel. As someone mentioned earlier, thay may not look tripped so turn them all off then on firmly. Hope one of these suggestions works. keep us all informed.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"[/I][/B]
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:14 AM   #15
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
I'm not sure how your unit is wired but check your outdoor receptacles and if there's any in a storage area as well. They may contain the GFIC receptacle that protects those other outlets.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:10 PM   #16
Bea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks for all of yall responses. We disconnected the camper and turned all of the breakers off. Then turned everything back on and now all is well! Whew! Thanks again, yall are great!
__________________
Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:28 PM   #17
itch'n to road trip
 
campnqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Georgia Mountains-Jasper GA.
Posts: 908
Okay y'all... we have ONE GFCI outlet in the bathroom. If we do not use our camper on a regular bases... when we DO... the GFCI breaker will trip with just a fan plugged in and turned on. Sometimes we have to reset it several time before it finally stays engaged. Guess it gets corrosion on the wires or contact points.

We think we may have a bad GFCI outlet in our RV bathroom... have had GFCI outlets go bad in our house too, and simply replaced them with a new outlet.

Okay so here is My question... if the GFCI outlet in out RV camper goes out and is bad ...can we go to our local hardware store/ HD and buy another GFCI outlet and replace the one in the camper? Or is the GFCI outlet in my camper different and need to be purchased from a RV store?

Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
__________________
2012 Ford F-250 King Ranch Super Crew Cab 4x4 "Mae West"
2014 Work & Play 25ULA "Ula"
Paula Drake, Ken Cooksey, Sunny Delight & Valor
Jasper Ga.
campnqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by campnqueen View Post
Okay y'all... we have ONE GFCI outlet in the bathroom. If we do not use our camper on a regular bases... when we DO... the GFCI breaker will trip with just a fan plugged in and turned on. Sometimes we have to reset it several time before it finally stays engaged. Guess it gets corrosion on the wires or contact points.

We think we may have a bad GFCI outlet in our RV bathroom... have had GFCI outlets go bad in our house too, and simply replaced them with a new outlet.

Okay so here is My question... if the GFCI outlet in out RV camper goes out and is bad ...can we go to our local hardware store/ HD and buy another GFCI outlet and replace the one in the camper? Or is the GFCI outlet in my camper different and need to be purchased from a RV store?

Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
Since it's a 110v circuit, I don't see any difference from a regular household recepticle. So, HD should be your next stop.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"[/I][/B]
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 03:04 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Eric F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 120
The GFCI from your local hardware store will work. I had the same problem with mine. Replaced it with one from Home Depot and it works fine. I did go with an outdoor outlet since it is in the restroom. May not be necessary though since they are sealed for the most part.
__________________
Eric F.
2015 Flagstaff Shamrock 233S
2012 Ford F250
Eric F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 07:56 AM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by campnqueen View Post
Thoughts? Comments? Warnings?
Paula and Ken,

Remember that a GFCI outlet compares the return current on the neutral (white) wire to the supplied current on the hot (black) wire in order to determine if you have a high resistance short (you in the circuit) or a high resistance loss (loose wire) that could cause a fire due to heat burning up the wires. For comparison, a Circuit breaker protects you from LOW resistance current loss (dead short or high current draw).

The GFCI outlet by Code is the first outlet that requires protection (like by a sink) and by it's nature ALL outlets downstream from the GFCI also receive that protection. Replacing a GFCI outlet with a NON-GFCI outlet is not only a violation of the electrical code; it is down right unsafe.

As to why a GFCI will trip under load has to do with that comparison we were talking about. If there is a high resistance connection at that outlet or any outlet downstream, the GFCI will trip off line.

So, with the circuit's power breaker turned off, check:

1) all connections behind the wall plate for looseness and corrosion. This is harder to do than you might think since they are "push in" connections and you might have a bad one. Wiggle each wire and see if it moves in the hole. If it does it needs to be replaced. (If this is the GFCI, it must be replaced with a GFCI)

2) If all is tight and bright, make sure you found them all. If there are two shielded cables going into the outlet box, there is another outlet somewhere down the line. Keep looking till you find it. I had no idea I had two GFCI protected outlets on either side of the master bedroom bed because they were covered by the mattress.

3) You can not plug a GFCI protected circuit into a GFCI protected source (like some generators) because they do not play well together.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.