Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2016, 11:48 AM   #1

Has anyone installed a slide awning where there was none?

I'm new to the RV world this year so I'm still learning a lot. I've noticed that some RVs have slide awnings and some done. Mine doesn't. I think it is a nice feature and would do a lot to prevent too much water and debris from potentially intruding or causing damage. I clean the slide off before closing up every time and I see a slide awning saving me lots of trouble. So my question is if anyone has installed a slide awning where there was none before. A youtube search seems only to yield how to videos with people replacing old awnings, not new installations. Your wisdom and guidance are appreciated. Thanks!

Tow Vehicle: 2009 Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Travel Trailer: 2017 Heritage Glen 27BH
SecretAgentMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 11:57 AM   #2

I had one installed by the dealer. I looked at the install instructions and it appears easy to do but is a two person job. On my slide out it cost about $1000 installed.

2012 F150 FX4 Crew 5.0 3.73 gears
2O12 Coachman Freedom Express 292BHDS (outdoor Kitchen)
Scubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 03:58 PM   #3

Are you asking about a slide topper or an awning that extends from the slide out?

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

2021 Jayco Class C model 27U
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2016, 04:38 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by SecretAgentMan View Post
So my question is if anyone has installed a slide awning where there was none before. A youtube search seems only to yield how to videos with people replacing old awnings, not new installations.