Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2015, 11:06 PM   #11
Plain Old Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Full Timing in South Louisiana
Posts: 1,938
We're on our second fridge in a year. It's a Norcold, but still a problem child. Leaking water out the back (in a place it isn't supposed to) during thaw cycle. Norcold was good, sent them videos and picture documentation of the problem, get a "we've never seen that before response", no questions asked, sent a new one. Got it in, did the same thing. I'm sure I could get a third, but enough is enough, and I'm tired of catching water with rags behind the fridge. So, while the fridge was removed during the change out, I starting taking pictures and measurements. Just so happened to be at Lowes one day, grabbed a tape, found one that fits, and here we go. Cost of fridge, inverter, 2- 6 volt batteries, battery box etc, still won't come to the cost of a new Norcold.

Keep us updated on what you come up with.
__________________

__________________
John and Rebecca Dickson
Emma-7 / Little John-5 / Iva-1
Full Timing Again, Rev B
2013 Ford F-350 Lariat CC LB PSD
2015 SOB TT - With OC's Awning Poles (#8)
At least in Heaven, RVs will be perfect, and I won't have to keep fixing them.
BigJohnD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 11:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
KenHwy61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 716
As was mentioned, there are several places online to buy rebuilt or have yours repaired if you don't want to buy new. I wouldn't bother with my own and I have been a commercial/industrial refrigeration mechanic for over 20 years. The ammonia inside is toxic to breathe and removing the charging plug will release the poisonous gas. Some things are just best left to professionals.
__________________

__________________

Seasonally in the Grand Marias, MN campground
On the beautiful shores of Lake Superior

Aviator Wright-Flyer#1908
2012 Ram 2500HD CTD
KenHwy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 12:03 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
gashog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 343
question on Dometic fridges, There's a 110 AC plug, a 12 Volt DC terminal and propane hookup. If I'm to test my Dometic that's sitting in my garage can I just plug it in to 110 AC or do I also have to supply it with 12 volts?
__________________
2015 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond Package

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie Longhorn 4 x 4
6.4 Hemi 410 HP, 410 Rear Axle
gashog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 12:28 AM   #14
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Believe circuit board needs 12 volts
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 08:26 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 14
Well....well....well. I just checked it. It ran out of propane sometime in the middle of the night, BUT the freezer is down close to 40 degrees, and the fridge is at least cool now. I switched it back over to AC power. My little Lev Andropov moment might have actually helped. Lol. I'll check it again tonight and give you guys a report.
__________________
Haybaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 12:06 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,748
"this is how we fix things in russia".........
__________________
Still Kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 12:11 PM   #17
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Comrade....
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:34 PM   #18
2003 Georgetown 325
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 94
i had this problem with my Dometic. Turned out that a 12v wire had gone to ground. Ran another wire and the problem was solved. I had tried the 'beat the hell out of the pipes' thing and also heating up the freezer compartment to make the gas reverse course. Didn't work though.
__________________
reddiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 02:46 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
Refrigerator

Make sure you are level as this will cause a problem also.if your not cut off ref.wait a couple hrs. Turn back on when you level my new dometic is the most sensitive I have ever had when not level
__________________
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 02:54 PM   #20
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Some might be touchier than others.... mine has been off level by 1" or more, side to side, and worked fine.
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.