Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2010, 02:28 PM   #1

Satellite TV

Hi folks....I'm new to Direct TV. Love it at home and the installer was nice enough to give me a dish for the trailer too. Unfortunately I'm having a hell of a time getting a signal even when I have a direct view of the southern sky. I have the dish on a tripod, it is level and I even tried using a signal finder. Still no luck. Now, I have been attaching the coax to the outside cable connector instead of going directly to the receiver. Is there some alternate wiring through the antenna that is tripping me up or do you know of something else that I could perhaps be doing wrong.....or.....is pointing the satellite really just that hard and I should drop the $700-800 on an automatic satellite finder? Thanks for any tips you may have.
Bruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 02:50 PM   #2

It is not easy to find your satellite, and even a satellite finder doesn't help that much as it finds ALL of them!
What I do is get a compass bearing at home, and as long as I am not going to far, that is my starting point. The I just move the dish in increasingly larger circles until I get a picture. Sometines I get it right away, sometimes takes a while.
If you are going any distance from home, you will need to get the compass bearing plus the angle up from the horizon (azimuth?) from your provider.
But those fancy, and expensive, rv dishes do look appealing!
crocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 02:52 PM   #3

Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Directv