Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2016, 05:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
A/c & power problems 2008 flagstaff 26fs

I was able to plug-in a 30 amp plug converted to a 15 amp into a house wall outlet. My AC worked fine and blew cold for two days. Three weeks later I went to a campsite for the first time. I have the same plug 30 amp into the 15 amp on the camp outlet and the AC compressor kicked on and kickback off. I then did straight 30 amp into the 30 amp outlet. AC would still not work
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1467757527.298354.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	105.0 KB
ID:	113184  
__________________

mtyson8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 05:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,568
Try this:

Turn the thermostat fan setting from "Auto" to "On" with the mode not set to A/C.

Will the fan run for at least 2 minutes?

If so, turn the mode to A/C.

Does it trip as soon as you switch to A/C?
__________________

__________________
2019 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside

Disclaimer: The actual value of my "Two Cents" of advice varies just like a bitcoin.
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 05:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,318
30A is not a good idea to plug into a 15A house outlet to run the AC. I got chastised for saying this before but the voltage drop can be hard on the AC compressor. Hopefully you haven't fried it but I am sure someone will come along to here to help.

Some have done it saying with no trouble but............


Good Luck.!!!!

__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 05:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,247
Did you check the circuit breaker for the AC unit on your distribution panel? turn it to off and then back on and try the AC again.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 01:38 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
I tried flipping the breaker off and back on while at campground. It was only in the 70s so it wasn't to big of a deal I couldn't get it going.
mtyson8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 09:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 458
Low Voltage

With many trailers plugged in and running ACs, the voltage will drop. Low voltage makes the motor run hot, which increases the resistance, which lowers the voltage further. Take a cheap Volt meter and check the voltage at the outlet next time. I'm guessing that is the issue.
__________________
2009 Roo 21ss + 2007 Superduty 6.0
mnoland30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 09:29 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,294
Running the AC and other normal RV appliances ( converter, fridge, etc) on a 15A breaker for any period of time is not a good idea . Individually they may be OK, but when all are demanding current ( running) at the same time, you can have an issue. Yes they will run, but it is possible to damage the compressor. Unplug from shore power for few minutes and reconnect to 30A and try again. Appears you had 30A service,( then did straight 30 amp into the 30 amp outlet) but not clear why you were not using it.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 10:32 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Use a 30 to 50 dog bone and move up to the 50 amp receptacle.

I did this last year in Nashville when power was down to 102 volts on the 30 amp receptacle and my ems killed power to my unit.
After dog boning to the 50 I was back up to 112v


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 10:41 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Use a 30 to 50 dog bone and move up to the 50 amp receptacle.

I did this last year in Nashville when power was down to 102 volts on the 30 amp receptacle and my ems killed power to my unit.
After dog boning to the 50 I was back up to 112v


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"

Is it safe to do this all the time?
mtyson8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 11:41 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtyson8 View Post
Is it safe to do this all the time?


11 years and not one problem.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 12:04 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtyson8 View Post
Is it safe to do this all the time?
Yes it is safe to do with a dog bone, as far as your A/C turn the A/C off and turn the fan to on, If the fan will come on then your probably out on overlaod. The compressor has a built in overload, you might have tripped that by going into locked rotor. Sometimes it can take from 2 to 8 hrs to reset itself, then try to start it on the 30 amp or dog bone. If still will not start call a repair person...When you were at home I guess you used a 30 amp plug to a 15 amp 110v adapter. Once you do that it will still bring on your convertor also, that will cause a bad enough drop in voltage that you could have burned some windings in it hence your problem now, a A/C running amps could be at 15 to 17 amps alone without the convertor kicking in also. Hope that helps and keep your fingers crossed.....
__________________

__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flagstaff, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


×