Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2018, 08:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 222
AC on Shore Power

I have a Flagstaff 27 BEWS TT. 30 amp service.
I have the TT plugged into a outside wall outlet on the front of my house to run the fridge for a trip tomorrow. Done this before with no problems.
I checked all systems water (after winterizing), propane and other electric. The fridge runs fine but the AC will not run.
Is there not enough juice in this wall outlet to run the AC or is it not working?
I checked the fuses, they all looked good.
Thanks, RMc
__________________

Wheels Down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,675
A normal house 20 amp outlet does not have enough juice to run the AC. Would need to have a 30 amp plug to run the air at home.


Last summer I did use a 50 amp pig tail adaptor that combines 30 amp and a 20 amp plug in two separate 20 amp plugs and used my air in my backyard when I was doing a flooring project and living in my camper for a week in the backyard.
__________________

Kimber45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:34 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,565
Check the breakers. The fuses are for 12VDC items only. How long is the extension cord you are using to plug into the house and how heavy is the wire. It could be several issues. If there is too much voltage drop in the line, the AC may not start. Also check to see that you have 120VAC in the TT ( try an outlet). Most newer homes have GFCI protection on all outside circuits. Some GFCI don't play well when two are connected in series. If this is the case, you may need to plug the TT into a non GFCI outlet.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 222
Thanks for the replies.
Seems like I had this problem before. I thought the AC worked but maybe it didn't. I guess the household 20 amp is not powerful enough to run the AC and fridge. I turned off the fridge but the AC did still did not work. I will be connected to my generator tomorrow night and it has a 30 amp RV plug that has run the AC before. If the AC still does not work with that then I will have it checked.
Thanks again,
RMc
Wheels Down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 03:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orange Texas
Posts: 761
Send a message via MSN to Tiggerdad
An extension cord will run an AC unit but you must watch the voltage to ensure it does not drop too low. IF your fridge is cooling on 120 V it tells me that there is an issue somewhere that prevents power from getting to your compressor.

Does the AC fan come on when thermostat is turned to "fan" without calling for cooling? Normally prior to compressor starting the fan on the unit will come on. Does it do that?
__________________

2013 Crusader 330 MKS
2013 Chevrolet Silverado LT 2500 D/A
Tiggerdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 09:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 182
If I need to run the A/C on house 110, while loading, I put the fridge on propane. I also us a 12 gauge extension cord, as short as possible, to power rig. I also plug my rig into EMS surge protector in case I get voltage drops.
twdenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 09:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,542
I run my 15k A/C on a 20 amp outlet with no problem. I use a heavy 10 gauge extension cord with a 30 to 20 amp adapter at the outlet. Check the voltage in the RV while it is UNDER LOAD. Yours may be dropping too low.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 09:57 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
“Most” household outlets are not 20 amp they are 15 amp

Unless yours looks like this it’s 15 amp
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0971.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	162978
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,399
You need to understand what all is being powered when you tried to run the AC. Normally you should have no problem running JUST the AC. But think of the other loads that MAY be drawing 110 VAC when you tried to run the AC (and you don't always know exactly when they are "ON"):
The water heater on electric is 1440 watts, which will pull about 12 amps.

The fridge on electric is 175 or 325 watts, depending on model, and can pull 1.5 - 3 amps (plus another 0.5 amps DC, which is about 0.05 amp AC, for the door heater).

If your converter is busily charging your battery, you could have a few more amps there.

Any lights will pull amps.
If you're pulling a lot of those amps down a skinny extension cord, your available starting voltage is going to be very low.

So make sure your water heater and fridge are on gas and not electric.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 826
I run the 13.5k ac and the converter on a 20 amp circuit at the house all the time. Even he fridge on propane too. What else is running on that circuit at the house? Jay
Jay2504 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay2504 View Post
I run the 13.5k ac and the converter on a 20 amp circuit at the house all the time. Even he fridge on propane too. What else is running on that circuit at the house? Jay
Fridge on propane uses very little power. I'd guess 1 amp DC (0.1 amp AC): 0.5 amps for the door heater and maybe 0.5 amps for the control board.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 11:08 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheels Down View Post
I have a Flagstaff 27 BEWS TT. 30 amp service.
I have the TT plugged into a outside wall outlet on the front of my house to run the fridge for a trip tomorrow. Done this before with no problems.
I checked all systems water (after winterizing), propane and other electric. The fridge runs fine but the AC will not run.
Is there not enough juice in this wall outlet to run the AC or is it not working?
I checked the fuses, they all looked good.
Thanks, RMc
The outside outlet you plug into is most likely 15 amp. And most likely GFI. It may run your ac but not much more. It may be tripped. The fridge and the converter would trip it. Your fridge would switch to gas if on auto. What is the "other electric" you checked? lights would be on 12 volt.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 07:10 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
“Most” household outlets are not 20 amp they are 15 amp

Unless yours looks like this it’s 15 amp
Attachment 162978
That is not necessarily accurate. I've seen many outlets on a 20 amp breaker but with conventional 15 amp receptacles. Checking the breaker amperage is the most accurate way to tell.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 07:30 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
“Most” household outlets are not 20 amp they are 15 amp

Unless yours looks like this it’s 15 amp
Attachment 162978
I thought a notched receptacle would denote a 20amp receptacle and no notch would be 15amps. Of course the circuit breaker is the only true indicator.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:09 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
I thought a notched receptacle would denote a 20amp receptacle and no notch would be 15amps. Of course the circuit breaker is the only true indicator.
Household electric is just as screwed up as RV electric. Your house is mostly 14 ga wire on 15 amp receptacles. Kitchen, family rooms, dining rooms receptacles are on 12 GA wire with 20 amp breakers/fuses and 15 amp receptacles. All legal per the NEC. Please don't jump in here with "MY house has..." There are exceptions to these rules depending on the date your house was built and as amended buy local codes in your area.. The notched receptacles are usually on circuits meant for specific single-use loads. 15 and 20 amps are notched differently. That's to prevent you from overloading a 15 amp circuit with a 20 amp device. Unlike the RV world.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:19 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 446
As a point of reference, my 13.5K a/c and my fridge on 120v both run fine when connected to a 20 amp residential receptacle using a 100' 12awg extension cord.
__________________
2016 Microlite 21DS
2014 Ram 1500 QC 6 cyl. 8 spd.
Blue Ox SwayPro
windsurfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:32 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsurfdog View Post
As a point of reference, my 13.5K a/c and my fridge on 120v both run fine when connected to a 20 amp residential receptacle using a 100' 12awg extension cord.
As they should.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:51 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Household electric is just as screwed up as RV electric. Your house is mostly 14 ga wire on 15 amp receptacles. Kitchen, family rooms, dining rooms receptacles are on 12 GA wire with 20 amp breakers/fuses and 15 amp receptacles. All legal per the NEC. Don't jump in here with "MY house has..." There are exceptions to these rules depending on the date your house was built. The notched receptacles are usually on circuits meant for specific single-use loads. 15 and 20 amps are notched differently. That's to prevent you from overloading a 15 amp circuit with a 20 amp device. Unlike the RV world.
OK fine but my electrical panel has a total of 22 single phase CB's and not one of them is 15 amp, they are all 20 amp and are wired with 12 GA. So, don't jump in with "your house has".
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:59 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
OK fine but my electrical panel has a total of 22 single phase CB's and not one of them is 15 amp, they are all 20 amp and are wired with 12 GA. So, don't jump in with "your house has".
Excellent point. Many homes are wired similarly. This appears to vary by region. Using only 12 ga is common here.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 09:37 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
OK fine but my electrical panel has a total of 22 single phase CB's and not one of them is 15 amp, they are all 20 amp and are wired with 12 GA. So, don't jump in with "your house has".

As stated I asked not to hear about how "your house is wired". You, sir, are in the minority of the homes built in the US apparently under a local code amendment using 12 ga wire. Yours is above what is required by the NEC. There is also and a number of houses in the minority built legally below NEC standards. But I knew this backlash was gonna happen. This discussion for an ELECTRIC FORUM. Let's just try and help the OP understand OK! How about you help him out with his problem.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


×