Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2015, 11:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 21
Air Conditioning on 30 amps verses 50 amps

We took our new Flagstaff 832 IKBS to a campground this weekend only to discover our spot was 30 amp instead of 50 amps. We used an adapter between shore power and coach, but because it was so hot, 98 degrees, we ran both units, a 15000 btu and a 13500 btu, keeping the amperage usage at around 31 amps with everything else running off gas or the breaker shut off completely like the microwave, but never got the inside below about 85 degrees. Now at the dealership it was hooked up to 50 amps and freezing cold inside when it was just as hot outside. My question is am I just screwed on this unit when its that hot outside or will 50 amps really make that much of a difference on the Airs efficiency? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
twobytwo97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 11:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,625
Even through you were max out power wise, It wouldn't have made a difference even being on 50 amp. If you were not tripping the 30 amp at the pedestal. You were getting everything it could put out. As far as the dealer he could have had it on before it got hot inside and it kept up. In short you need to get it on earlier before you get all that heat gain inside. The voltage only has a relation to your windings. If the compressor is running you will still get the same BTU, but you do stand a chance of burning a winding. In the business it is called FLA (full loaded amps)
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 12:12 PM   #3
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,663
To prevent damaging the AC units when on 30amp recommend using one or the other not both. Later RJD
__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 12:24 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
You can run both a/c's on 30 amp (at least I can do it), but you need to monitor the voltage. With an EMS if the voltage gets too low the power will be shut off to protect the a/c units. The OP could have been operating on a low voltage situation, thus not cooling efficiently.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 12:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
You can run both a/c's on 30 amp (at least I can do it), but you need to monitor the voltage. With an EMS if the voltage gets too low the power will be shut off to protect the a/c units. The OP could have been operating on a low voltage situation, thus not cooling efficiently.
Low voltage will not effect the cooling. It's going to run at FLA. there is also a 10% plus or minus built in. If the voltage got to low the compressor would shut down on internal overlaod. Low voltage will cause heat to the windings, the compressor will still run until it heated up enough. It's not wise to run both on 30 amps FLA on a 15000 btu is like 15 or 16 amps and 13,000 btu it's like 14 or so I would need to look it up to give you the real #'s but those are close. FLA also includes your blower motor and condenser fan. The largest drop in temp can only be between 15 and 17 degree difference in the unit r/a and supply. If the inside was 80 when he turned it on the best he will get would be around 65 coming out of registers. At 70 degrees inside he could get down to 55 degree air coming out. Big difference from when a person starts his a/c.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 01:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
We recently did what ACEINSPP suggested - ran one or the other AC unit when we had only a 30 amp hookup and it worked well. Ran the front living area during the day, then turned it off and ran the bedroom at night. 106 degrees outside during the day and we were cool inside.
__________________
CindyB
2014 Georgetown 329DS
CindyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 01:39 PM   #7
Member
 
G.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 83
We do the same as CindyB above. If it's just the Mrs. and I it works fine. If we have someone sleeping downstairs, we run that unit and I have a fan mounted where the tv goes in the bedroom that circulates enough air to keep us cool upstairs.
__________________
Greg & Patty
2014 Flagstaff 8528IKWS
2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Extended Cab 4x4 Duramax/Allison
G.B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 01:54 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
How did you run both units?
Almost always each a/c is on its own 50 amp leg .
Once you went dogboned to 30 amp one a/c should not have worked.
But I guess it's possible.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 02:04 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
How did you run both units?
Almost always each a/c is on its own 50 amp leg .
Once you went dogboned to 30 amp one a/c should not have worked.
But I guess it's possible.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
Ron, the adapter bridges (or jumps) the single 120 volt hot leg to both L1 and L2, when hooking a 50 amp 120/240 up to a 120 30 amp outlet. The 30 amps is shared on both L1 and L2 in the RV.

This was what got our buddy Bombdoc in trouble, if you recall that evening we were trying to get it figured out. He had used an adapter for his 50 amp RV to hook to a 240 volt 30 amp 3 wire outlet instead of a 120 volt 30 amp outlet.

Here is a schematic showing this:

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 02:11 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
That is correct, and running draw on both a/c's is usually around 26amps. I still argue, if voltage drops the compressor will not be as effective.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.