Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2015, 11:06 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Can't get TV to work using antenna

We have been using our Toshiba 32C120U televison with cable at different campgrounds. Now we are at a campground without cable and we have gone to input to Ant/Cable and ran the scan many times and still have a snowy screen. I was told by another camper and read on other threads that I need to push the booster switch but can't find it anywhere on the TV. Our TV was hooked into the wall at the factory and therefore can't get to the back of the TV. Does anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
stitcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
The booster switch is not on the tv but on the wall. It could be behind a cabinet door near the entertainment center.
__________________

__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:24 PM   #3
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
the booster switch is often located on a receptacle mounted on the wall under the TV. It is a tiny push button and an LED to show when it is in boost mode.
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:27 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,268
The booster switch in my Wildcat is not even in the room with the TV. It's in the bedroom where a 2nd TV might be hung.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:27 PM   #5
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
Look for something like this.


Robot Check
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 08:09 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Forester Fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: On the road between New Hampshire and Florida
Posts: 371
I just went through the same thing on my Forester - found the answer after a little digging: TV antenna questions
__________________
Forester Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 270
DonandDonna have the right picture for Winegard. Next, look for a physical switch to select Antenna, Cable, Satelllite. Then go to your TV menu, switch from Cable to Local/Antenna, and rescan (limit to digital only if you wish).
__________________
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 01:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
nikita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Grand Island
Posts: 158
We have a 2015 Sabre 5th Wheel and it is in our Master Bedroom right above the dresser - yes - where we would put our second TV . When it is in Antenna mode, the little green light will be on.
__________________
Nikita
2011 Chevy Silverado Diesel 2500HD
2015 Sabre 33 RETS 5th Wheel
nikita is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 04:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
You will only receive digital signals
__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 06:10 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 99
Same as others have mentioned, not always in the place you'd expect them to be! In our Wildcat Maxx, as another poster said, ours is in the bedroom on the ceiling in part of an outlet for a bedroom TV and with a 12 volt plug hole.
In our last trailer, a Wilderness, it was up inside the stereo / DVD cabinet next to a subwoofer plug, you had to get on the floor and take the subwoofer speaker cover off and reach up inside to push it in and turn on the red LED showing it was on.
This seems to be a truism of these RV's we have, standardization is a concept not quite adhered to, even in the same models!
__________________

__________________
Tdbrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.