Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2014, 03:35 PM   #1

Question Flagstaff Super-Lite 26RLWS help needed

Does anyone on this forum have any experience with or knowledge of the Flagstaff Super-Lite 26RLWS? We are planning on the purchase of this unit if all goes well and there are no inherent major issues. We are absolute newbies, never towed a travel trailer, and are trying to eliminate as many issues as possible before towing. We have a 2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab 5.7L and 3.55 axle. I've been told and my research seems to confirm that this is more than enough truck for this TT but I'm unsure. I don't know anything about trailer brakes or hitches needed for this kind of tow. Also, we are trying to find out about delamination problems with this model, if any, and what sort of problems occur with vacuum bonding if it is holed by a rock or something.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. We are recently retired and want to spend a considerable amount of time traveling/camping. Thanks
Intrepid Travelers
Intrepid Travelers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:12 PM   #2

We bought the 27RLWS and were towing it with a 3005 Dodge 1500 Hemi 5.7 4X4 crew cab. The TT weighed in dry at 6333 with 7500 max. It pulled it well but really wasn't enough truck sober traded up to 2013 Dodge 2500 4X4 crew 6.7 Cummings. Pulls great now with no issues. The 26 is lighter. You will need a transmission cooler and a brake controller. Mountains could be an issue. Your coming at at 5895 lbs dry. Do you had a tow package on your truck?
No delam issues just minor stuff like in buying a new house. To buy a TT you should be handy at fixing stuff which is with any make and model. Read through the forum an you will find several threads that are more than helpful. I would buy another Forest River again.
Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
Slympicins is offline   Reply With Quote