Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2014, 10:06 AM   #1
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
GFCI outlet

2014 Flagstaff 832IKbs
Had a power surge and now the gfi in kitchen/entryway won't reset. Has power coming into it
But 3 outlets don't work.
I'm thinking of replacing the outlet but not sure if it needs to come from rv parts or can it be purchased at Lowes/Home Depot. It has a little red light on it and says 3 pole.
Any thought are appreciated.
Gary
__________________

__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:12 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Lowes home cheapo units are preferred.
Rv units are cheap crap

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:21 AM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
There are circuits in the GFCI that determine if it should be allowed to pass power to the outlets and all downstream outlets. These can be damaged.

However, before you replace it, press the reset button (sometimes in red; other times in outlet color and not easily seen). If it snaps in you are good to go).

There is also a test button that should be checked/pressed monthly.
It should pop the GFCI reset button; just press it back in after the test.

Oh, I have also seen plugs that are oddly shaped that can press on the test button and cause the outlet to malfunction (not work).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gfci15iv.jpg
Views:	551
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	52032  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 02:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Slympicins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sevierville
Posts: 761
GFCI outlet

Did you check your main breaker? When was running my two electric heaters the main would pop when something else kicked in. Seems they ran every GFI on the same breaker.
__________________
Chuck and Joanne
2014 Flagstaff Super Lite Classic 27RLWS Emerald
2013 Dodge 2500 4x4 Laramie Crew
Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
Slympicins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:22 PM   #5
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Replaced the GFCI and all the other outlets now work.
Fried the coffee pot, fan, blender. TV was smoking but seems to work. Will keep an eye on it for a few days along with everything else. Could have been a lot worse.

Thank you everyone.
Gary
__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:40 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Replaced the GFCI and all the other outlets now work.
Fried the coffee pot, fan, blender. TV was smoking but seems to work. Will keep an eye on it for a few days along with everything else. Could have been a lot worse.

Thank you everyone.
Gary
Do you have a surge suppressor?
Im not sure how a gfci can fry anything?
Maybe someone with more knowledge can explain.

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Do you have a surge suppressor?
Im not sure how a gfci can fry anything?
Maybe someone with more knowledge can explain.

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
Sounds like GFCI was only one of six items fried at the same time. Lightning strike or power supply briefly out of control, gen set or Power Co.?
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:08 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Sounds like GFCI was only one of six items fried at the same time. Lightning strike or power supply briefly out of control, gen set or Power Co.?
Thats what I'm thinking.



TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
before u go buy another gfci, pull the old one and see how much space u have to work with. my trailer is 2002 and the reg outlets have their own cover on them so that they don't have to be installed in a box. a gfci may be the same for a trailer. i would take the existing gfci with me and compare it to the new one. u may not have enough depth in the "wall" to install another type (assuming they are different).

they usually run other outlets from the gfci. i have at least two other that are strung off the gfci. my gfci is in the kitchen and it controls the outlet in the bathroom and i believe one other.
mark the wires u disconnect from the gfci and what terminals they are attached to on the gfci. one will come from ur breaker box and the other will go to the other outlets.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post
before u go buy another gfci, pull the old one and see how much space u have to work with. my trailer is 2002 and the reg outlets have their own cover on them so that they don't have to be installed in a box. a gfci may be the same for a trailer. i would take the existing gfci with me and compare it to the new one. u may not have enough depth in the "wall" to install another type (assuming they are different).

they usually run other outlets from the gfci. i have at least two other that are strung off the gfci. my gfci is in the kitchen and it controls the outlet in the bathroom and i believe one other.
mark the wires u disconnect from the gfci and what terminals they are attached to on the gfci. one will come from ur breaker box and the other will go to the other outlets.
Jim,

Post 5 he changed the outlet, like you I wondered if the outlet was deep enough, I guess it was!
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.