Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2017, 10:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tonyz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 355
Heat strip in air conditioner help?

We have a new 29KSWS that came with two factory installed Coleman Mach 3 air conditioners and the front air has the installed heat strip. My question is should we close the grill vents when using the heat strip and let air all go thru the ducted vents? The strip is controlled by the wall thermostat but paperwork doesn't really explain how to use it correctly and wasn't covered in our PDI so hoping for some insight from others. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Tony & Brenda
2017 Ford F-250SD 6.7 Power Stroke
2018 Flagstaff 29KSWS
Happy Camping!
tonyz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,473
The unit is designed to be operated in either mode thru the ducts or direct out the vents.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 09:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tonyz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaDog View Post
The unit is designed to be operated in either mode thru the ducts or direct out the vents.


Thanks SeaDog for your reply. I was wondering about how it was designed to operate and to make sure I didn't cut air back too much and overheat something. Thanks again.
__________________
Tony & Brenda
2017 Ford F-250SD 6.7 Power Stroke
2018 Flagstaff 29KSWS
Happy Camping!
tonyz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 09:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Steeljag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Fl.
Posts: 1,295
Tony, we were able to use ours for the first recently on a trip with temps in the 40s. It seemed to work well, just noisy, and something I really did not want to listen to making coffee in the early AM.

Easy to operate by placing the digital thermostat to Heat strip and Auto ( or high / low whatever you like).

I don't see it being an issue with heat build up with the two options you listed !
__________________
2018 Forester 3011DS (Purchased 04/26/17)
2010 Flagstaff 26 RLSS (Sold 05/16)
2012 Ford F-150 Ecoboost, Screw, H/D, 3.73
1930 lbs CCC
2014 Jeep Rubicon JK
Going where the weather suits my clothes.
Steeljag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
tonyz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 355
Thanks Steeljag. We ran it shortly last night and I agree with the noise with the air conditioner fan running constantly. Turned it off before bed and ran furnace during the night. We ran into a learning curve when running one or both airs at the same time also, how many vents to open in the bedroom to keep temp about the same throughout camper. Thanks again.
__________________
Tony & Brenda
2017 Ford F-250SD 6.7 Power Stroke
2018 Flagstaff 29KSWS
Happy Camping!
tonyz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 12:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Rookiewood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 214
I have a 2018 Rockwood Signature ultra light 8311 WS with 2 AC units. The first one is 15 K BTUs and the other one (I thought it was 13.5)....
To my surprise I found the two units have the heating strips !
The question is.... do they put heating strips in AC units less than 15K BTUs, or do I have 2 15K BTUs units ....?
__________________
2016 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LTZ Z92
2018 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8311WS
Rookiewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 03:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookiewood View Post
I have a 2018 Rockwood Signature ultra light 8311 WS with 2 AC units. The first one is 15 K BTUs and the other one (I thought it was 13.5)....
To my surprise I found the two units have the heating strips !
The question is.... do they put heating strips in AC units less than 15K BTUs, or do I have 2 15K BTUs units ....?
To the best of my knowledge the addition of emergency heating strips on heat pumps are not determined by the BTU rating of the unit. You can tell the BTU rating by reading the data plate it will be listed in BTUs or tons of AC.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 04:11 PM   #8
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wilderness CG, WI
Posts: 3,354
Just so people knows the difference.

A heat pump is just a AC that's been wired so the compressor can run in reverse when in heat pump mode. The heat pump does not work very well when the outside temperature is below 40 to 45 degrees. They will put out some heat at 35 degrees but not enough to bring the indoor temperature above 40 degrees.

A heat strip installed in a AC is just a 1500 watt heater that is similar to a portable electric heater. The strip is similar to the heat strip in the 120 volt fireplace.
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989, seasonal since 2000
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
The Faster I Go, The Behinder I Get.
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 08:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,473
heat pumps don't reverse the compressor it runs the same regardless of mode. The difference between a heat pump and a straight AC is the heat pump has a reversing valve that changes the flow of refrigerant.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 07:36 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
mac8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Heat strip and furnace together

If you want to add heat strip but continue to use furnace as back up to the heat strip. Would you simply divorce furnace from ac and Heat strip thermostat and install thermostat for furnace only and set to come on at certain temperature regardless of heat strip setting. Probably not a very clear question, but hopefully y'all can help.
__________________

mac8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


×