Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2014, 07:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 407
Main breaker in the RV trips when using AC and microwave

Today we set up in Bastrop SP and experienced two occasions when the 30A breaker at the post tripped when just using occasional AC. I then plugged into the 50A plug and meanwhile called the HQ who sent a couple of rangers. They figured that it was a worn 30A breaker and switched that out but advised me to continue using the 50A breaker, which I did with no tripping at the post.

Now that my wife is making supper and the AC is running (is it 85 deg.F outside) the main 30A breaker in the RV is tripping a couple of minutes after the microwave was started. I reset the breaker and then it happened again. Now we have the AC off as she is finishing using the microwave.

Anyone else have this experience with this RV, or any other? I do have a functioning Surge Guard at the post.

I do know that we have run the AC and microwave before without issue.

I am wondering if the two issues - breaker tripping at post and breaker tripping in the RV - are related, although the loads are different. I suspect it is the supply power but can't be sure until I go to another park and use the same electrical loads. The main breaker is 30A while the microwave and AC are on separate circuits, 15A and 20A respectively.
__________________

__________________
Regards,
Wayne
2014 Flagstaff Super Lite 27RLWS Emerald Edition | Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
2010 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L | K&N filter | Hypertech Max Energy tune | Prodigy P3
Wmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 323
Is it possible the hot water was also heating at the time.
__________________

__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat1956 View Post
Is it possible the hot water was also heating at the time.
Possible but unlikely since it was a while after we arrived and I believe the water was aleady hot and was not being used.
__________________
Regards,
Wayne
2014 Flagstaff Super Lite 27RLWS Emerald Edition | Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
2010 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L | K&N filter | Hypertech Max Energy tune | Prodigy P3
Wmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:32 PM   #4
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
The breakers they put in campers are not the best quality. I replaced all of ours as soon as we got the 5er. Just take them all out and go to Lowes/HD and get replacements.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
LittlePM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: In the Heart of Dixie
Posts: 1,778
Even if the water is hot, your water heater draws 14 of your 30 amps. The other thing big draw is your coffee pot.
__________________
Pennie and Chuck, Mandi and Polly (the little dogs)
Your Hosts for BamaGanza 2017
2014 Georgetown XL378, 2013 Honda CR-V AWD Toad
Days Camped 2014 - 83, 2015 - 56, 2016 - 58, 2017 - 86

The Home of the FREE because of the BRAVE
LittlePM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
The breakers they put in campers are not the best quality. I replaced all of ours as soon as we got the 5er. Just take them all out and go to Lowes/HD and get replacements.
Hmmmm ... interesting. I might just do that. Any recommendations? I looked at the Lowes page and say more than one type and make.
__________________
Regards,
Wayne
2014 Flagstaff Super Lite 27RLWS Emerald Edition | Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
2010 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L | K&N filter | Hypertech Max Energy tune | Prodigy P3
Wmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:51 PM   #7
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittlePM View Post
Even if the water is hot, your water heater draws 14 of your 30 amps. The other thing big draw is your coffee pot.
Only if it is heating, once the water is hot, the heater shuts off and draws 0.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
If two or more circuit breakers open at a close to a 30amp rating, then it could be you are drawing 30 amps sustained and they are supposed to open. The AC will draw 14 amps when trying to catch up, the microwave will also draw 14 amps at full power. Any lights or or other loads will put you over the top. Try using less than full load in both appliances when both are needed. Strip other loads for the short time you are cooking. Do not increase the rating of the breakers or you'll be the next headline for camper fire!
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:53 PM   #9
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wmoses View Post
Hmmmm ... interesting. I might just do that. Any recommendations? I looked at the Lowes page and say more than one type and make.
Take one out and take it with you and buy all the replacements. Probably a 30a and (2) 15a.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittlePM View Post
Even if the water is hot, your water heater draws 14 of your 30 amps. The other thing big draw is your coffee pot.
Even if it not heating but between heating cycles? That doesn't seem right. Besides I was hooked up to 50A at the time, although the Surge Guard is a 30A unit. Now thinking about it I went to the Surge Guard website and read this:

Quote:
Can I hook up a 30A Surge Guard to a 240V/50A power pedestal using a 30A/50A adapter? The answer is yes, and the Surge Guard will function properly; however, it is not recommended. The higher 50A input can cause the circuit breakers to be thrown.
So, since it is dark presently I will plug back into the 30A supply tomorrow and see if I get any different results. I do believe that the ranger changed the breaker today.
__________________

__________________
Regards,
Wayne
2014 Flagstaff Super Lite 27RLWS Emerald Edition | Equal-i-zer 1200/12,000 4-point WDH
2010 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L | K&N filter | Hypertech Max Energy tune | Prodigy P3
Wmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.