Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2013, 07:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
New Thermostat Dilemna

Just installed a new digital thermostat. Everything works BUT, when the furnace is running, the rooftop blower runs as well. When on Heat Mode, the blower runs until the thermostat clicks at the set temp and it goes off. This did not happen with the original analog Tstat. The furnace still runs for a couple more minutes to blow out the "excess", then cuts off. I have the blower hooked to the Tstat with the low fan speed wire. I did not opt to hook up a separate switch to be able to have both hi/lo fan speed. The RED wire is in the RC terminal. I have moved it to the R terminal with no change in the situation. Since it has a jumper wire, I don't think it matters which one it is in. Attached is a pic of how I have the wires connected to the Honeywell Tstat. Anybody have any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0027.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	43853  
__________________

Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
litgrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: mid Michigam
Posts: 115
Did you see this post? Replace Dometic with Honeywell Thermostat
__________________

litgrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,858
Does your thermostat has an "auto" setting? If yes put on auto instead of high/low setting and hopefully that works....
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped:2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Didn't see this one but have seen everything on the internet. Called Honeywell Technical Assistance but they were about as helpful as.....well, I'll be nice and say they couldn't understand what I was saying.

This is what I have gathered:

Red-Hot
Yellow-AC Compressor
White-Furnace
Blue-Ground
Green-High Speed Blower
Gray-Low Speed Blower

The Blue wire is not needed to ground the tstat. And I don't need high speed blower. Unless my colors may mean something different than what I stated above.
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
Does your thermostat has an "auto" setting? If yes put on auto instead of high/low setting and hopefully that works....
When the furnace is running, the fan is in the Auto setting. There is no difference if switched to ON, other than(haven't noticed) it will run after the furnace kicks off.
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:26 PM   #6
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williston, Florida
Posts: 308
Check your setup. There should be a switch (physical or software) that controls the fan, two modes, furnace controls fan or thermostat controls fan. You want the first option

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy Schnoodle & Bucky (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 10:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
Check your setup. There should be a switch (physical or software) that controls the fan, two modes, furnace controls fan or thermostat controls fan. You want the first option

Rick
I guess I don't really understand what you are referring to. The fan switch is on AUTO. But the fan should not be on when the furnace is on. If cold air were not blowing around, it might be a good idea to circulate the air.
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 10:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
Check your setup. There should be a switch (physical or software) that controls the fan, two modes, furnace controls fan or thermostat controls fan. You want the first option Rick
I believe RJ is referring to the t-stat setup instructions. You may have already done it..but un-jump r to rh. May not help, but it won't hurt.
In a typical HVAC system the fan is controlled by the stat on a normally open relay...on the heat the fan (used to be) controlled by a normally closed relay contact...in other words the heating blower was fail safe to auto run on heat on mode. I have to wonder if the "Walmart" stats are made for split(most RV) a/c and heat systems. I see posts where they are installed....I will be honest. I have installed plenty of stats and I would have read and study the diagram for wiring and comparability.
PS: stay away from hunter stats. They used to be fail to heat on when the cheaper digital stats went out. Translated... You come back in and it's a 100 deg. cause it failed to heat on. I have replaced several of these for that.
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 10:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
litgrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: mid Michigam
Posts: 115
The site I tried to send you to was on the Forest River Forum I saw right after I looked at your delema. He did exactly what you're trying to do. It's similiar to a setup I configured on my older Prowler 5vr when I had to replace an old broken Coleman thermostat with a digital Honeywell unit. It worked perfect. If you go to the site he says: red- cap off, yellow to cool, brown/blue to green high speed fan, white to furnace, green to rc/rh, orange cap off.
litgrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 11:24 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
I've tried so many combinations(that didn't work or do anything) that I'm happy that at least things are working (almost) correctly. I don't have a brown or an orange wire, see one of my previous posts. I was hoping somebody has had the same "problem" I am having. I've fired off an email to Forest River to get their take on what's going on. My dealer wouldn't give me any info since I was doing the work myself.
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Update! Update!

After much head scratching, I finally figured things out. Inside the tstat is a switch for GAS/OIL or ELECTRIC/HEAT PUMP systems. Since I have a gas furnace, I flipped it to GAS/OIL and everything is working as it should!



Thanks to all who tried to help. Maybe this will help some poor soul down the road!
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
jtstromsburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timex View Post
After much head scratching, I finally figured things out. Inside the tstat is a switch for GAS/OIL or ELECTRIC/HEAT PUMP systems. Since I have a gas furnace, I flipped it to GAS/OIL and everything is working as it should!



Thanks to all who tried to help. Maybe this will help some poor soul down the road!
Great! Thanks for sharing your fix
__________________
Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:59 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timex View Post
After much head scratching, I finally figured things out. Inside the tstat is a switch for GAS/OIL or ELECTRIC/HEAT PUMP systems. Since I have a gas furnace, I flipped it to GAS/OIL and everything is working as it should!



Thanks to all who tried to help. Maybe this will help some poor soul down the road!
You will still need a jumper from Rh to Rc other then that your ac will not get power. unless it has an internal jumper installed. Rh is power to hot Rc is power to cool.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Like I said, EVERYTHING is working fine.
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:38 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timex View Post
Like I said, EVERYTHING is working fine.
That's just great that both a/c and the fau is both working without a jumper. That's a first for me being I did HVAC for 20 years, I guess you are never to old to learn. looking at your subase it looks like a jumper wire from R to RC
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 09:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
Had to set the AC at 60* to test it. Couldn't stand more than a few minutes of that but the fan ran on auto and shut off when the compressor cut off. I could turn the fan to ON and it would stay on. The furnace would come on at the set temp and run like it should. No fan ran up top unless I manually turned it on. The only thing I don't have is a switch for HI/LO fan. I just have the LO fan speed, which is fine for me. We use a tower fan in the den. The degree of change looks like a 2* swing. I'm satisfied, better than the 8-10* swing!
__________________

Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


×