Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 08:06 PM   #11
Now a "Top Member"
 
EdJunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Roman Forest, TX
Posts: 1,370
I've never had a problem with mine. When I hear the change in pitch of the motors, I let off the switch. It's only a split second. I never heard of this being a problem, but it sure sounds like it might be.
__________________

__________________
Ed and Sharon
2010 Wildcat 28RKBS
2011 Ford F-250 XLT, 6.7L PSD
Ride-Rite Airbags and Airlift wireless remote compressor...nice!

I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong!
EdJunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:58 AM   #12
Drinkin beer on the beach
 
Rod Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fallbrook, CA
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyoung4ever View Post
Thanks for the replies. Looks like the tech must have held the button too long and blew the fuse. Is there a way to tell when to release the button other than listening to the motor? Is there a way to mark the place to stop before it's "too late"? We really don't want to be going through fuses when there is something that could be done to prevent it from happening.
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
I put auto resetable curcuit breakers in for my sledes and jacks instead of the fuses .
Beat me to it. I was going to suggest the same thing. You should be able to pick them up at the local auto parts store. I might have spent a weekend or two at the pick-a-part yard and GM used them in the power window circuit in the most of the 80s mid and full size cars. Its a little silver thing, a little bigger than your standard fuse. It just plugs into the slot like a fuse. I think all the ones I have are 30 Amp ones.
__________________

__________________
2014 Silverado 2500 6.6L TD and 4X4
2011 Carson Standard Duty Car Hauler
2012 Forest River Stealth SK2112
Rod Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:59 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
jvahicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
I have a flagstaff 831FLSS with electric stabilizers front and back. When raising or lowering them the switch will automatically trip when it gets in to a bind and then reset when it cools. I have yet to blow a fuse on mine and only occasionally trip the auto reset. It came this way from the dealer and have not had any issues from it. Hope you can get yours working properly and listen for the sound of the motor as it gets in a bind as others have already mentioned. Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new TT.
__________________
jvahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:35 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyoung4ever View Post
Thanks for the replies. Looks like the tech must have held the button too long and blew the fuse. Is there a way to tell when to release the button other than listening to the motor? Is there a way to mark the place to stop before it's "too late"? We really don't want to be going through fuses when there is something that could be done to prevent it from happening.
This is a common and well documented issue. Just let your dealer know and they will install auto-reset fuse in your on-board breaker panel. It is a simple plug-in replacement for the existing fuse so you should be able to get an auto-reset fuse from your dealer and replace it yourself, it is easier that taking your trailer to them.

...VTX-AL
__________________
VTX Al is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:19 PM   #15
Sparkie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fillmore Saskatchewan
Posts: 6
On our 8528RKWS, I. HAVENT HAD A PROBLEM SINCE I BLEW THE 1ST FUSE AND REPLACED IT WITH AN AUTO RESET FUSE OF SAME AMPS. I ALSO PUT ONE IN THE FRONT LANDING GEAR.
__________________
Don.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 11:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dilgerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 105
If for some reason you run both the front and rear jacks at the same time it will blow the fuse also.
__________________
dilgerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:19 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Port Hope,Ontario, Canada
Posts: 33
My son blew a fuse while retracting the rear jacks. Just to save somebody the trouble of finding it....it was in a rubber holder right at the battery. There is one for the front and one for the rear there. Mine were 15 amp fuses.
__________________
gettmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:36 AM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don.G
On our 8528RKWS, I. HAVENT HAD A PROBLEM SINCE I BLEW THE 1ST FUSE AND REPLACED IT WITH AN AUTO RESET FUSE OF SAME AMPS. I ALSO PUT ONE IN THE FRONT LANDING GEAR.
All the 12v dc fuses in ny fuse panel or converter distribution panel are self resetting circuit breakers vs the standard ato automotive fuse.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:47 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 52
Same thing happened to me when I got my 2013 26RLSS home after the walk through. Replaced the breaker and haven't had a problem since. knock on wood!
__________________

__________________
Sailfish Bret
2013 F150 SuperCrew Lariat
Ecoboost 3.73 locker Max Tow
2013 Flagstaff 26RLSS
2012 Days Camped - 20
Sailfish Bret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.