Old 06-20-2013, 09:21 PM   #1
Shakedown trip for new 29IKTS

First post to this forum as a new owner of a Flagstaff Ultra lite 29IKTS. What I am going to post is the reflection of an absolute newbie. We have camped for 11 years in a Coleman Redwood Pop-up,basically a tent on wheels. It had no refrig., heat, AC, stove. and one water line to a hand pump faucet that we never charged. You more experienced people will roll your eyes at my naivitie (if that is a word), but Newer campers may just nod and smile. First we camped half hour away determined to use all systems to ensure they worked. These forums were great as I dewinterized and sanitized. I am still a little confused on the plumbing around the pump. I thought the valve there was for the water heater. There are three lines, one for "city water, one for the fresh water tank and one for antifreeze in the winterizing process (Can't wait until I have to do that. NOT!!) My next confusion was for the water heater. The plumbing is cleverly hidden by a paneling wall the you have to tear out to get to the bypass valves. I actually had to call my dealer and he kinda walked me through some of this. There are two switches. One on the water heater, accessible from the outside is an electric rocker switch. I thought if you turned it on you were only turning on the electrical element, and if it was off, you could turn on the inside control panel switch ang propane would heat the water. Turns out (I think) that the outside switch also controls the electric ignition so needs to be on, then the inside switch triggers the ignition so the water is heated with gas and electric. I thought it was either/or, but no. If I have this wrong, feel free to tell me so.