Old 08-25-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
(Solved) Where is the water heater bypass in 2012 30wtbs v-lite?

Hi all, newbie here! I did a search but didn't find my answer so hopefully this isn't the 100th time someone has asked this one.

We have a new 2012 V-lite 30wtbs TT. The manual talks about switching the water heater bypass before winterizing with antifreeze, but I can't find the bypass valve.

It doesn't appear to be in the compartment on the outside where you access the waterheater itself - no water lines visible in there.

I got brave, removed the hinge closing the compartment under the pantry/wardrobe closet and found the water filter, the backs of the city water intlet and the outside shower, but nothing in there is screaming water heater bypass, although I think by process of elimination it must be in there somewhere.

I feel like I must be missing something obvious here. Can anyone point me in the right direction. The owner's manual sure is useless...

arlee453 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Since you found the outside part of the water heater, go to that area on the inside of the camper. You may have to remove a panel or something to get to the bypass valves.

From some pictures I found on the net, and comparing to the floorplan, it should be in the corner between the stove and sink. Check for a removable panel under the sink, or at the doorway.

BTW....welcome to the forum !!!

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2006 Ford F150 Super Cab 4x4
2008 Surveyor 263
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:17 PM   #3
Thanks mtnguy - that was fast! Going to go take a look.... if it's right behind the water heater then it's not going to be in the compartment where the filter is!