Old 01-02-2013, 09:35 PM   #1

Suburban furnace will not start.

I have a 2009 flagstaff trailer. That is equipped with a suburban furnace. A bit ago it refused to turn on. Click at the thermostat. Click at the furnace. No blow no fire. After various attempts I poked the fan with a stick and "voila"
Fan blew, pilot ignited, nice warm air.
Now this trick is working but it is taking more and more tries, and after three times I have to disconnect all power and try again.

Now I am leaning toward replacing the motor, but before I do I ranted to see if anyone has had this problem, or had any thought or advice.

Thanks

Old 01-02-2013, 09:48 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Sounds to me like the motor is bad.
Wiring connection may be suspect as well

Turbs

Old 01-02-2013, 09:49 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forums!

I'm not a furnace expert, but I know that the fan has to work and provide air flow to make the 'sail' switch before the gas control valve will open and start the burner ignition. I'm not sure from your description if you have other issues than that.

Dave

Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:59 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z3ck View Post
I have a 2009 flagstaff trailer. That is equipped with a suburban furnace. A bit ago it refused to turn on. Click at the thermostat. Click at the furnace. No blow no fire. After various attempts I poked the fan with a stick and "voila"
Fan blew, pilot ignited, nice warm air.
Now this trick is working but it is taking more and more tries, and after three times I have to disconnect all power and try again.

Now I am leaning toward replacing the motor, but before I do I ranted to see if anyone has had this problem, or had any thought or advice.

Thanks