Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2014, 09:52 AM   #41
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
I guess I did herk, but I know it works the way the dealer hooked it up on DVD's only. I really know zero about electronics and less about tablets and computers. All I know is that they took out the yellow rca jack and plugged in the HDMI from the TV to the GT 3.0. in the rear of the unit. I even had to buy a 90 degree adapter to fit the TV. I'm happy with just the DVD, I don't watch much TV only the news and a DVD now and then. I rather drink beer and look at the stars.
The HDMI from the Concertone/Genesis is required to get HD VIDEO from the DVD player to the TV (otherwise you get standard -crappy- video). The Surround sound comes right from the DVD, through the radio to the speakers and the TV is not involved at all except to show the video (you can even mute the TV because the radio is handling the surround sound).

The issue being discussed here, is if there is an over the air or cable channel or show being broadcast in surround sound (like the Simpsons). In this case, the TV is the origin of the audio (and not the radio). To get that digital audio to the radio (so you get the surround signals), you must use a digital connection.

Some TV's (like mine) do not have a digital output (so I need to do like you do and use the analog stereo L/R RCA (white/red) audio connection from the TV to the radio. This will get you your 5 speakers working, but it will not be surround sound, just the same L/R channels from 2 left and 2 right speakers with a mixed center channel and some lower frequencies routed to your subwoofer.

Herk

ACK! This is what I get when I "reply" from an email link. Camaraderie covered it very well. My apologies. Herk
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:50 AM   #42
Junior Member
 
crabsnbeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
For true 5.1 SS, you need you need to have both the HDMI cable from and the optical cable from the TV to the Genesis. Once that connection is made, turn the TV's speakers off.
I noticed from the dealer that they only installed the HDMI and the red and white RCA cables. This will only give you L/R stereo to your A/B/C speaker zones. I needed to add my own optical cable. On the back of The Genesis in that mass of wires, there was a small black box attached. This has the "dog house" shaped input connection. These inputs are usually covered for protection but the cover over the holes is designed to fold into the hole when the end of the optical cable is inserted. Just push the cables in until they click.
__________________

__________________
crabsnbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:58 AM   #43
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
I found this great photo of the TV digital audio outputs required to send broadcast surround sound signals from the TV to the Concertone ZX-600 and Genesis units.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	33952.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	52747   Click image for larger version

Name:	_TOSLINK.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	52748  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 08:52 PM   #44
Member
 
firedude01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 43
i was told ours would only work with the radio also i had a flagstaff before and thought it was odd it worked on the old one and not the new so i did a little playing and found tv plays through it on AV2 setting but for some reason i have to switch it back to av1 then back to the av2 for it to work but it sounds good
__________________
firedude01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 08:01 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
I found this great photo of the TV digital audio outputs required to send broadcast surround sound signals from the TV to the Concertone ZX-600 and Genesis units.
Excellent...the only think missing ...a digital coax audio cable is herewith supplied:


Though this may LOOK like a standard RCA connection... the one key difference is that it is a 75 ohm cable. Don't spend a lot of money for this as there is NO difference in the transmission of 1's and 0's over any 75 ohm cable...but DON'T use standard red & white audio cables since they are not typically 75 ohms. If you still have a YELLOW RCA jack wire that you used to hook up to video inputs...that IS a 75 ohm cable and will work fine.
__________________
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:57 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,616
Well thanks to Cam and Herk I now have my HDMI and Toslink installed. I have it all set now for dolby digital and HDMI. Great sound coming out. They tell me the base speaker is under the entertainment center. Be damn if I can hear it or feel any vibration down there. Thanks for all your help. And Cam thanks for the step by step instructions you emailed me. How that 8.8 just born grandson doing? Congradulations.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 09:52 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,721
Oh that's great that it all worked out GLJ....it's always dicey when you're giving advice on a system you've never seen!
Anyway...I expect that will have been good practice for whatever come on mine in a couple of weeks!.... Thanks..."Little Joe" is doing great and I have his place in the coach all picked out!
__________________
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 06:52 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Devilscreekw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cloverleaf, Manitoba
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Well thanks to Cam and Herk I now have my HDMI and Toslink installed. I have it all set now for dolby digital and HDMI. Great sound coming out. They tell me the base speaker is under the entertainment center. Be damn if I can hear it or feel any vibration down there. Thanks for all your help. And Cam thanks for the step by step instructions you emailed me. How that 8.8 just born grandson doing? Congradulations.
Don't know about yours, but I can reach over the little wall at the back of the entertainment centre, and feel the speaker itself. Mine wasn't working either. I put in "Twister". If a hurricane doesn't move the subwoofer, nothing will.

I had to pull the wall out, and found the subwoofer wasn't connected.
__________________

__________________
Harv & Deb
2015 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2010 Ram 2500 4x4 crew 5.7 Hemi, 3.73
Equalizer 1200 4 pt. Tekonsha controller
Devilscreekw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.