Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2016, 10:55 PM   #1

Tires question

Are the tires that come with the trailer good to tour with or not. I have heard that the tires that come on the trailer are not good is this true or not . Some people are telling me to switch to LT tires but I have been told that they have higher towing capacity in weight
Majicdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:09 PM   #2

So what tires and what RV (weight) do you have? Google your tires and see what others say about them. None of our 5 RVs came with tires I trusted so the first stop was always the tire store or I had the dealer take the tires off my old rig and transfer them. And yes, I always run LT tires.
Reese Fifth Airborne Sidewinder
NMWildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 09:57 AM   #3

Are the LT that much better I don't know as I'm new to the this. I'm going on a long tour soon. Should I change the tires as this trailer is new only about 100 miles on tires. But I don't want to have tires problem on the road.
Majicdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 10:02 AM   #4

what trailer do you have? What tires are on it now?
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 10:19 AM   #5

In June I just finished a 5,300 mile trip from Texas to California and back. This included passes through the Mojave Desert, Palm Springs, Phoenix, Tuscon, New Mexico, and Texas. Temps exceeded 110 degrees on many of these days.

I have a 2016 Rockwood Roo 233S with the factory Castle Rock tires. I did add a TST 507 Flow Through sensor system on each of the trailer tires, with metal valve stems added.

No issues with the tires at all, checked tires religiously before every departure for proper cold tire pressure.